Back Children's Books | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Laundry Day

Jessixa Bagley · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"I'm bored," said Tic.

"Me too," said Tac.

What do two bored badgers do when they've done everything, including driving their mother around the bend?

Laundry, of course.

What could possibly go wrong?

In this spirited picture book, Tic and Tac,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Feelings Book

Todd Parr

Sometimes I feel silly.
Sometimes I feel like eating pizza for breakfast.
Sometimes I feel brave.
Sometimes I feel like trying something new...

The Feelings Book vibrantly illustrates the wide range of moods we all experience. Kids and adults will appreciate Todd P
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the World

Liz Garton Scanlon · Beach Lane Books; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

All the world is here. It is there. It is everywhere. All the world is right where you are. Now. Following a circle of family and friends through the course of a day from morning till night, this book affirms the importance of all things great and small in our world, from the tiniest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Piglet Named Mercy

Kate DiCamillo · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Every porcine wonder was once a piglet! Celebrate the joy of a new arrival with this endearing picture-book prequel to the New York Times best-selling Mercy Watson series.

Mr. Watson and Mrs. Watson live ordinary lives. Sometimes their lives feel a bit too ordinary....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Quack Quack, Who's That?

Delia Noel · Barron's Educational Series
Pages: 12
Format: Board book

A delightful lift-the-flap board book entertains toddlers with a pleasant little guessing game. Every one of twelve brightly illustrated spreads presents a farmyard scene and the spelled-out sound that one of the animals makes. For instance, "Cock-a-Doodle-Doo!" heads up the question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Do Dinosaurs Learn Their Colors?

Jane Yolen · The Blue Sky Press
Format: Board book

The bestselling, award-winning team of Yolen and Teague present their third original dinosaur board book, a fun read-aloud that teaches children all the colors of the rainbow.Dinosaur colors start with red:A red fire truck stuck under the bed,A purple towel left on the floor,A green sign...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Want That Nut!

Madeline Valentine · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A nutty and clever buddy story that celebrates cooperation, perfect for fans of Duck and Goose.

Meet Mouse and Chipmunk, two young rodents who want the same thing - a big, beautiful nut! But who deserves it more? After all, Chipmunk and the Nut read together and lie in the grass...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winter is for Snow

Robert Neubecker · Hyperion Books for Children
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Winter is for sledding, friends, snowmen, penguins Winter is for snow In a rambunctious ode to everything winter, two siblings explore a snowy wonderland . . . and end up in the cozy warmth of family. Delve into Robert Neubecker's expressive and rejuvenating illustrations that celebrate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
World of Reading: Jake and the Never Land Pirates X Marks the Croc: Pre-Level 1

Disney Book Group · Disney Press
Format: Paperback

After Captain Hook attempts to steal Peter Pans map-in-a-bottle, the bottle ends up in the Tick Toc Crocs belly! Its up to Jake and his crew to shake things up a bit as they try to get the Croc to laugh, sneeze, and even burp up the bottle. Did the Croc bite off just a little more than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Off to School, Baby Duck!

Amy Hest · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"Hest and Barton treat their subject with understanding, compassion, and gentle humor... Don't miss out on this one." - SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL (starred review)

It's the first day of kindergarten and Baby Duck's stomach is all jitters. She loves the important things...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sophie's Animal Parade

Amy Dixon · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Mama calls it Sophie's imagination, but Sophie calls it magic. Everything Sophie draws comes to life, and one day when Sophie feels lonely, she decides to draw a friend. But the polar bear cub isn't very happy in Sophie's room, where it is much too warm. So Sophie tries again. But the duck...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 Minutes till Bedtime

Peggy Rathmann
Format: Book

At One Hoppin' Place, the countdown to bedtime is about to begin when a family of hamsters -- a mother and father with nine kids and a baby all wearing numbered striped jerseys -- arrive at the front door."All aboard!" the child's pet hamster, dressed as a tour guide, shouts, directing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Time for Bed

Mem Fox · Harcourt Brace & Co.
Pages: 28
Format: Book

Darkness is falling everywhere and little ones are getting sleepy, feeling cozy, and being tucked in. It's time for a wide yawn, a big hug, and a snuggle under the covers--sleep tight! "Working beautifully with the soothingly repetitive text, each painting conveys a warm feeling of safety...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sophie la girafe: Peekaboo Sophie! (Sophie La Giraffe)

DK Publishing · DK Preschool; Brdbk edition
Pages: 12
Format: Board book

With more than fifty million sold, Sophie la girafe, the wildly popular toy from France, is a fixture in nurseries all over the world. A favorite among moms, Sophie la girafe is a popular shower gift, and has garnered praise from parents everywhere. Now come the first ever licensed Sophie...
Read More check catalog