Back | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Mystery & Thrillers  
Twisted at the Root

Ellen Hart · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Ellen Hart's intimate storytelling returns in Twisted at the Root, where Hart's latest mystery shows the importance of finding the truth.

Everyone thought Rashad May and Gideon Wise were happily married. That is, until Rashad was convicted...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Last Good Guy

T. Jefferson Parker · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this electrifying new thriller from three-time Edgar Award winner and New York Times bestseller T. Jefferson Parker, Private Investigator Roland Ford hunts for a missing teenager and uncovers a dark conspiracy in his most personal case yet.

When hired by a beautiful and enigmatic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lost You: A Novel

Haylen Beck · Crown
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A provocative novel of psychological suspense about two women locked in a desperate fight over a child each believes is rightfully hers

"Deliciously twisty and seriously dark . . . I couldn't put it down." - Natasha Bell, author of His Perfect Wife

Libby...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love and Death Among the Cheetahs

Rhys Bowen · Berkley
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Georgie and Darcy are finally on their honeymoon in Kenya's Happy Valley, but murder crashes the party in this all-new installment in the New York Times bestselling series.

I was so excited when Darcy announced out of the blue that we were flying to Kenya for our extended...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Whisperer

Karin Fossum · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this tense and twisty latest from Norway's maven of crime, time shifts between Inspector Sejer's interrogation of the accused Ragna Reigel and the shocking events that led up to her arrest. How did this lonely, quiet woman come to kill a man - or did she?

How did a lonely, quiet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Whisper Man

Alex North · Celadon Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

**THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

"WORKS BEAUTIFULLY... If you like being terrified, The Whisper Man has your name on it."
-- The New York Times, Editor's Pick

"SUPERB"
-- Publisher's Weekly, Starred Review

"BRILLIANT......

Read More check catalog
 
 
Strangers She Knows

Christina Dodd · HQN
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

I have three deadly problems:1. I've seriously offended a maniacal killer.2. I just had a bullet removed from my brain.3. My new daughter is growing up too fast--and she's in the line of fire.Living on an obscure, technology-free island off California means safety from the murderer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wolf Wants In: A Novel

Laura McHugh · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

In a small town ravaged by the opioid crisis, a woman confronts a dark secret about her brother's shocking death - a gripping novel of suspense for fans of Sharp Objects and S-Town.

"A perfect thriller . . . a thoughtful commentary on America's opioid crisis and...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Stranger Inside: A Novel

Lisa Unger · Park Row
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Even good people are drawn to do evil things ...

Twelve-year-old Rain Winter narrowly escaped an abduction while walking to a friend's house. Her two best friends, Tess and Hank, were not as lucky. Tess never came home, and Hank was held in captivity before managing to escape....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Duplicate Death

Georgette Heyer · Poisoned Pen Press
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

Double the murder means double the stakes in this Golden Age mystery from Georgette HeyerInspector Hemingway has his work cut out for him when a seemingly civilized game of Duplicate Bridge leads to a double murder. The crimes seem identical, but were they carried out by the same hand?...
Read More check catalog