Back Outdoors & Nature | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Outdoors & Nature  
Pure Joy: The Dogs We Love

Danielle Steel · Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 154
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In this moving memoir, Danielle Steel tells the story of how she met a dog the size of a mouse with a personality that could light up an entire room. From Minnie's arrival at home in San Francisco to clothes-shopping jaunts in Paris, her adventures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flat Broke with Two Goats: A Memoir

Jennifer McGaha · Sourcebooks
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

When life gets your goat, bring in the herd

Jennifer McGaha never expected to own a goat named Merle. Or to be setting Merle up on dates and naming his doeling Merlene. She didn't expect to be buying organic yogurt for her chickens. She never thought she would be pulling camouflage...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Natural Wonders of the World

Smithsonian Institution. · DK
Pages: 440
Format: Hardcover

Discover Earth's most beautiful and fascinating natural landmarks. From the spectacular granite domes of Yosemite to the reefs of the Bahama Banks and the ice sheets of the Antarctic, this is an unparalleled survey of the world's natural treasures.

From the Rocky Mountains to the Great...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are?

Frans de Waal · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 340
Format: Print book

A New York Times Bestseller

From world-renowned biologist and primatologist Frans de Waal, a groundbreaking work on animal intelligence destined to become a classic.

What separates your mind from an animal's? Maybe you think it's your ability to design tools, your sense...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Seven Skeletons: The Evolution of the World's Most Famous Human Fossils

Lydia V Pyne · Viking
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

An irresistible journey of discovery, science, history, and myth making, told through the lives and afterlives of seven famous human ancestors

Over the last century, the search for human ancestors has spanned four continents and resulted in the discovery of hundreds of fossils. While...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Feeder Birds of Eastern North America: Getting to Know Easy-to-Attract Backyard Visitors

Sandy Allison · Stackpole Books,
Pages: 73
Format: Print book

Bird-watchers know there is a list of species that regularly and dependably come to dine at backyard bird feeders. This perfect guide introduces 30 North American birds most likely to appear at your feeder, including sparrows, finches, chickadees, woodpeckers, nuthatches, titmice, and cardinals....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land that Healed Them

Dean Kuipers · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan.

Some families have to dig hard to find the love that holds them...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Proof Positive: A Joe Gunther Novel

Archer Mayor · Minotaur Books; First Edition / First Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Ben Kendall was a troubled man. Coming back from Vietnam with PTSD and scars that no one else could see, he hid away from the world, filling his house with an ever-increasing amount of stuff, until finally, the piles collapsed and he was found dead, crushed beneath his own belongings. But what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Indiana Nature Set: Field Guides to Wildlife, Birds, Trees & Wildflowers of Indiana

JAMES KAVANAGH · Waterford Press
Pages: 36
Format: Paperback

The Indiana Nature Set offers the best in wildlife and plant identification for The Hoosier State. The set includes three Pocket Naturalist Guides to Indiana, Trees & Wildflowers, Birds, and Wildlife, and is attractively packaged in an acetate bag. The beautifully illustrated folding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Source: How Rivers Made America and America Remade Its Rivers

MARTIN DOYLE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

How rivers have shaped American politics, economics, and society from the beginnings of the Republic to today.

In this fresh and powerful work of environmental history, Martin Doyle explores how rivers have often been the source of arguments at the heart of the American experiment...
Read More check catalog