Back | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Middle Grades  
Finding Junie Kim

Ellen Oh · HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina's Voice, We Need Diverse Books cofounder Ellen Oh creates a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival, inspired by her mother's real-life experiences during the Korean War. Faced with middle school racism, Junie Kim learns of her grandparents'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Agent 9: Flood-a-Geddon!

James Burks · Razorbill
Format: Paperback

The Super-Secret Spy Service's mission is to keep the world safe from maniacal villains. And Agent 9 is one of its best operatives. Although Nine always manages to complete the mission, there is occasionally some collateral damage (like the priceless Pigasso painting that was destroyed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Truly Tyler

Terri Libenson · Balzer Bray
Format: Hardcover

A story about being your truest self - and trusting your truest friends - from bestselling author Terri Libenson. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale. Cliques. Crushes. Comics. Middle school. Ever since Tyler started getting into art and hanging out with Emmie, his friends...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shaesta Waiz Soars around the World

Nancy Pimm · Beaming Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

"You must believe in yourself and allow your dreams to soar." --Shaesta WaizShaesta Waiz, a refugee from Afghanistan, dreamed of doing great things. But first she had to leave a refugee camp with her family to make a new life in America, overcome gender stereotypes, be the first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote

Veronica Chambers · Versify
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds - black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more - who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cardboard Kingdom #2: Roar of the Beast

Chad Sell · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A mystery is afoot in the Cardboard Kingdom.Vijay, the Beast, renounces his title after being bullied by neighborhood teenagers. No one--not his big sister Shikha or his friends--can seem to draw him back out of his shell. That very night is when it starts. At first, no one believes Nate,...
Read More check catalog