Back | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science Fiction  
To Sleep in a Sea of Stars

Christopher Paolini · Tor Books
Pages: 832
Format: Hardcover

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars is a brand new epic novel from New York Times bestselling author Christopher Paolini. Exploring new worlds is all Kira Navarez ever dreamed of doing. But now she has found her nightmare.On a distant planet ripe for a colony, she has discovered a relic previously...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prime Deceptions: A Novel

Valerie Valdes · Harper Voyager
Pages: 448
Format: Paperback

The lovably flawed crew of La Sirena Negra and their psychic cats return in this fast-paced and outrageously fun science-fiction novel, in which they confront past failures and face new threats in the far reaches of space from the author of the critically acclaimed Chilling Effect.Captain...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Architects of Memory

Karen Osborne · Tor Books
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Millions died after the first contact. An alien weapon holds the key to redemption -- or annihilation. Experience Karen Osborne's unforgettable science fiction debut, Architects of Memory.Terminally ill salvage pilot Ash Jackson lost everything in the war with the alien Vai, but she'll...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hench: A Novel

Natalie Zina Walschots · William Morrow
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

A smart, imaginative, and evocative novel of love, betrayal, revenge, and redemption, told with razor-sharp wit and affection, in which a young woman discovers the greatest superpower - for good or ill - is a properly executed spreadsheet.Anna does boring things for terrible people because...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thrawn: The Ascendancy Trilogy #1

Timothy Zahn · Del Rey
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Beyond the edge of the galaxy lies the Unknown Regions: chaotic, uncharted, and near impassable, with hidden secrets and dangers in equal measure. And nestled within its swirling chaos is the Ascendancy, home to the enigmatic Chiss and the Nine Ruling Families that lead them.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Divergence

C. J. Cherryh · DAW
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The twenty-first book in the beloved Foreigner saga continues the adventures of diplomat Bren Cameron, advisor to the atevi head of state.The overthrow of the atevi head of state, Tabini-aiji, and the several moves of enemies even since his restoration, have prompted major changes in the Assassins'...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Pill: A novel

Hari Kunzru · Knopf
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the widely acclaimed author of White Tears, a bold new novel about searching for order in a world that frames madness as truth.After receiving a prestigious writing fellowship in Germany, the narrator of Red Pill arrives in the Berlin suburb of Wannsee and struggles to accomplish anything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Set My Heart to Five: A Novel

Simon Stephenson · Hanover Square Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

*SET TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY EDGAR WRIGHT (SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD) *For fans of Fredrik Backman and Gail Honeyman, a delightfully entertaining, deceptively poignant debut novel about a humanlike bot named Jared, whose emotional awakening leads him on an unforgettable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fifty in Reverse: A Novel

Bill Flanagan · Tiller Press
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

If you had the chance to live your life over again, knowing everything that you know now, would you take it? Would you still take it if it meant losing everything you have today? Would a second chance to correct every mistake and missed opportunity be worth giving up the world you know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
That Time of Year

Marie NDiaye · Two Lines Press
Format: Hardcover

Herman's wife and child are nowhere to be found, and the weather in the village, perfectly agreeable just days earlier, has taken a sudden turn for the worse. Tourist season is over. It's time for the vacationing Parisians, Herman and his family included, to abandon their rural...
Read More check catalog