Back Children's Chapter books | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Chapter books  
Lila and Hadley

Kody Keplinger · Scholastic Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Can a lost girl save a found dog? Find out in this unforgettable story about discovering true friendship, finding home, and the possibilities of forgiveness.Hadley is angry about a lot of things: Her mom going to jail. Having to move to another state to live with her older sister, Beth,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Space Between Lost and Found

Sandy Stark-Mcginnis · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Cassie's always looked up to her mom, a vivacious woman with big ideas and a mischievous smile. Together they planned to check off every item on a big-dream bucket list, no matter how far the adventure would take them. But then Mom was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's disease,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mary Underwater

Shannon Doleski · Amulet Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by Joan of Arc, a girl builds and pilots a submarine to prove just what girls can do in this masterful middle-grade debut Mary Murphy feels like she's drowning. Her violent father is home from prison, and the social worker is suspicious of her new bruises. An aunt she's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Julieta and the Diamond Enigma

Luisana Duarte Armendïriz · Tu Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Merci Suarez in this smart young middle-grade mystery about a diamond gone missing from the Louvre and the sweet and spunky girl who cracks the case. Nine-year-old Julieta is finally about to put a purple pin in her family's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen

Anne Nesbet · Candlewick
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

When a publicity stunt goes terribly wrong, twelve-year-old Darleen Darling, star of the silent film era, must defeat villains both on screen and off in this edge-of-your-seat adventure.Lights! Camera! Kidnapping? It's 1914, and Darleen Darling's film adventures collide with reality...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wrath of the Dragon King

BRANDON MULL · Shadow Mountain
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Dragons have declared war on humanity

After a humiliating defeat at the hands of Kendra and Seth, Celebrant, King of Dragons, prepares to unleash his fury and take control of his native preserve. Two of the seven dragon sanctuaries have already fallen. Will Wyrmroost...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure

Jeff Kinney · Amulet Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

You've never seen the Wimpy Kid World like this before - an entirely new, awesome, friendly, truly fantastic fantasy quest from #1 international bestselling author Jeff Kinney!

From the imagination of Rowley Jefferson comes an adventure of epic proportions. Join Roland and his best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magic in Changing Your Stars

Leah Henderson · Sterling Children's Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Can you change your fate - and the fate of those you love - if you return to the past? Journey to 1939 Harlem in this time-travel adventure with an inspiring message about believing in yourself. Eleven-year-old Ailey Benjamin Lane can dance - so he's certain that he'll land the role...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rick

Alex Gino · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning author of George, the story of a boy named Rick who needs to explore his own identity apart from his jerk of a best friend.Rick's never questioned much. He's gone along with his best friend Jeff even when Jeff's acted like a bully and a jerk. He's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gabby Duran's Intergalactic Babysitter Orientation Guide

Disney Book Group · Disney Press
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

When Gabby Duran is recruited to babysit aliens secretly residing in her hometown, the unapologetically bold tween receives an Intergalactic Babysitter Orientation Guide from her school principal, who also happens to be an extra-terrestrial. Though not a by-the-book kind of girl, Gabby...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Place at the Table

Saadia Faruqi · CLARION BOOKS
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Sixth graders Sara and Elizabeth could not be more different. Sara is at a new school that is completely unlike the small Islamic school she used to attend. Elizabeth has her own problems: her British mum has been struggling with depression. The girls meet in an after-school South Asian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One and Only Bob

Katherine Applegate · HarperCollins
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Return to the unforgettable world of the Newbery Medal-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling novel The One and Only Ivan (soon to be a major motion picture!) in this incredible sequel, starring Ivan's friend Bob!Bob sets out on a dangerous journey in search of his long-lost sister...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What We Found in the Corn Maze and How It Saved a Dragon

Henry Clark · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

When three kids discover a book of magic spells that can only be cast during a few short minutes a day, they'll need all the time they can get to save a dying magical world, its last dragon, and themselves.An ordinary day turns extraordinary when twelve-year-old Cal witnesses his neighbor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Con Quest!

Maggs, Sam · IMPRINT


Read More check catalog
 
 
The List of Things That Will Not Change

Rebecca Stead · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

When life takes a new direction, it's comforting to know that some things will not change. A brilliant and touching story about navigating big family shifts, from the masterful Newbery Medal winning author of When You Reach Me.

When Bea's parents got divorced, they told her about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rival Magic

Deva Fagan · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A young wizard's apprentice discovers that the best magic is not the biggest or the brightest, but the magic unique to you, in this cinematic middle grade fantasy in the tradition of Kiki's Delivery Service and The School for Good and Evil.Antonia may not be the most powerful wizard...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Braver

Selfors, Suzanne · IMPRINT


Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dream Weaver

Reina Luz Alegre · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Twelve-year-old Zoey navigates the tricky waters of friendship while looking for a way to save her grandfather's struggling business in this heartwarming, coming-of-age debut novel perfect for fans of Kristi Wientge, Donna Gephart, and Meg Medina.Zoey comes from a family of dreamers....
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Dream of Space

Erin Entrada Kelly · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover


Read More check catalog
 
 
Sara and the Search for Normal

Wesley King · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"It's the vivid, insightful depiction of Sara's internal struggles that readers will remember." - BOOKLIST In this prequel to the Edgar Award-winning OCDaniel, fan-favorite Sara quests for "normal" and finds something even better along the way.Sara's Rules...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Next Great Jane

K. L. Going · Dial Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning author K. L. Going comes a happily-ever-after story of a girl who discovers the true secret to all good writing--through an unlikely friendship, some well-intentioned matchmaking, and little bit of science.Jane Brannen wants nothing more than to become a famous author...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Max Einstein: Rebels with a Cause

James Patterson · jimmy patterson
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"A fast-paced, science-filled caper." --The Wall Street Journal

Max Einstein is the first and only children's adventure series officially approved by the Albert Einstein Archives.

Max Einstein's typical day is not your average 12-year-old's. She...

-...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl and the Witch's Garden

Erin Bowman · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The Secret Garden meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children in this rich, charming middle grade adventure about a girl determined to infiltrate her grandmother's enchanted garden with the help of some magically gifted friends.Mallory Estate is the last place twelve-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Really Truly

Heather Vogel Frederick · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The Pumpkin Falls Private Eyes grapple with pirates and mermaids in the third cozy mystery of the Edgar Award-nominated middle grade series from the author of the beloved Mother-Daughter Book Club books.Truly Lovejoy is excited for the perfect summer in Pumpkin Falls, New Hampshire: swim...
Read More check catalog