Back History | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  History  
Overground Railroad: The Green Book and the Roots of Black Travel in America

Candacy Taylor · Abrams Press
Pages: 360
Format: Hardcover

The first book to explore the historical role and residual impact of the Green Book, a travel guide for black motorists Published from 1936 to 1966, the Green Book was hailed as the "black travel guide to America." At that time, it was very dangerous and di cult for African-Americans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Romanov Sisters: The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra

Helen Rappaport · St Martins Pr
Pages: 492
Format: Print book

A New York Times Bestseller for 12 weeks!
"Helen Rappaport paints a compelling portrait of the doomed grand duchesses." -- People magazine

"The public spoke of the sisters in a gentile, superficial manner, but Rappaport captures sections of letters...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Big History

Dk. · Dk Publishing
Pages: 440
Format: Print book

Featuring a foreword by the father of Big History, David Christian, and produced in association with the Big History Institute, Big History provides a comprehensive understanding of the major events that have changed the nature and course of life on the planet we call home. This...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Days at the Brink: FDR's Daring Gamble to Win World War II

Bret Baier · William Morrow
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

From the #1 bestselling author of Three Days in Moscow and anchor of Fox News Channel's Special Report with Bret Baier, a gripping history of the secret meeting that set the stage for victory in World War II - the now-forgotten 1943 Tehran Conference, where Franklin D. Roosevelt, Winston...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Blood at the Root: A Racial Cleansing in America

Patrick Phillips · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

A gripping tale of racial cleansing in Forsyth County, Georgia, and a harrowing testament to the deep roots of racial violence in America.

Forsyth County, Georgia, at the turn of the twentieth century was home to a large African American community that included ministers and teachers,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West

David McCullough · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story - the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredible hardships to build a community based...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Independence: The Tangled Roots of the American Revolution

Thomas P. Slaughter · Hill & Wang
Pages: 487
Format: Hardcover

An important new interpretation of the American colonists' 150-year struggle to achieve independence"What do we mean by the Revolution?" John Adams asked Thomas Jefferson in 1815. "The war? That was no part of the Revolution. It was only an effect and consequence of it."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown.

Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Prize: Who's in Charge of America's Schools?

Dale Russakoff · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"Mark Zuckerberg, Chris Christie, and Cory Booker were ready to reform our failing schools. They got an education. When Mark Zuckerberg announced in front of a cheering Oprah audience his $100 million pledge to transform the Newark Schools -- and to solve the education crisis in every...
Read More check catalog
 
 
World War I: The Essential Reference Guide

Spencer Tucker · ABC-CLIO
Pages: 397
Format: Computer file

World War I was an epic conflict that toppled centuries-old empires, transformed the Middle East and Russia, and helped elevate the United States to prominence as a world power. In essence, understanding the reasons for and outcomes of the First World War provides a cornerstone for knowledge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Call Sign Chaos: Learning to Lead

Jim Mattis · Random House
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A clear-eyed account of learning how to lead in a chaotic world, by General Jim Mattis - the former Secretary of Defense and one of the most formidable strategic thinkers of our time - and Bing West, a former assistant secretary of defense and combat...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Platoon: A True Story of American Valor

Clinton Romesha · Dutton Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

The only comprehensive, firsthand account of the fourteen hour firefight at the Battle of Keating by Medal of Honor recipient Clinton Romesha, for readers of "Black Hawk Down "by Mark Bowden and "Lone Survivor" by Marcus Luttrell. "'It doesn't get better. ' To us, that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Untitled

ANONYMOUS. · Scribner
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover


Read More check catalog
 
 
These Truths: A History of the United States

JILL LEPORE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 960
Format: Hardcover

In the most ambitious one-volume American history in decades, award-winning historian Jill Lepore offers a magisterial account of the origins and rise of a divided nation.

The American experiment rests on three ideas -- "these truths," Jefferson called them -- political...
Read More check catalog