Back | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Large Print  
The Goodbye Man

Jeffery Deaver · Thorndike Press Large Print
Pages: 560
Format: Large Print

In this twisty thriller from the New York Times bestselling master of suspense, reward-seeker Colter Shaw infiltrates a sinister cult after learning that the only way to get somebody out . . . is to go in. In the wilderness of Washington State, expert tracker Colter Shaw has located two young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sea Wife

Amity Gaige · Thorndike Press Large Print
Format: Large Print

For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Kate Atkinson, and Jennifer Egan From the highly acclaimed author of Schroder, a smart, sophisticated literary page turner about a young family who escape suburbia for a year-long sailing trip that upends all of their lives Juliet is failing to juggle motherhood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen's Fortune: A Novel of Desiree, Napoleon, and the Dynasty That Outlasted the Empire

Allison Pataki · Thorndike Press Large Print
Pages: 640
Format: Large Print

"As the French revolution ravages the country, Desiree Clary is faced with the life-altering truth that the world she has known and loved is gone and it's fallen on her to save her family from the guillotine. A chance encounter with Napoleon Bonaparte, the ambitious and charismatic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shiner

Amy Jo Burns · Thorndike Press Large Print
Pages: 414
Format: Large Print

"An hour from the closest West Virginia mining town, fifteen-year-old Wren Bird lives in a cloistered mountain cabin with her parents. They have no car, no mailbox, and no visitors-except for her mother's lifelong best friend. Every Sunday, Wren's father delivers winding sermons...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Furmidable Foes

Rita Mae Brown · Thorndike Press Large Print
Pages: 433
Format: Large Print

Spring arrives in northern Virginia, and as the ground thaws and the peonies begin to bloom a bright magenta, the women of St. Luke’s Lutheran Church prepare for a Homecoming celebration like no other. Harry, Susan Tucker, and their friends are busy planting flowers and trimming hedges...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Henna Artist

Alka Joshi · Thorndike Press Large Print
Pages: 550
Format: Large Print

Vivid and compelling in its portrait of one woman's struggle for fulfillment in a society pivoting between the traditional and the modern, The Henna Artist opens a door into a world that is at once lush and fascinating, stark and cruel. Escaping from an abusive marriage, seventeen-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Daughters of Erietown: A Novel

Connie Schultz · Random House Large Print
Pages: 650
Format: Large Print

Hidden desires, long-held secrets, and the sacrifices people make for family are at the heart of this powerful first novel by the popular Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist."A moving, unforgettable story about time, progress, and how the mistakes of one generation get repeated or repaired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fast Girls: A Novel of the 1936 Women's Olympic Team

Elise Hooper · HarperLuxe
Pages: 608
Format: Large Print

"Fast Girls is a compelling, thrilling look at what it takes to be a female Olympian in pre-war America...Brava to Elise Hooper for bringing these inspiring heroines to the wide audience they so richly deserve." - Tara Conklin, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Romantics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Way of Love

Tracie Peterson · Bethany House Publishers
Pages: 432
Format: Large Print

Faith Kenner is pursuing her dream to become a doctor at Willamette University's medical college so she can use her gift for healing to help those in need, especially the native populations forced onto reservations and then neglected. When she meets Andrew Gratton, a handsome riverboat...
Read More check catalog