Back | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Fiction  
Fabio The World's Greatest Flamingo Detective: Mystery on the Ostrich Express

Laura James · Bloomsbury Children's Books
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

This hilarious, brightly illustrated chapter book starring Fabio the flamingo detective and his sidekick Gilbert the giraffe is perfect for fans of CatStronauts and The Bad Guys.In a small town on the banks of Lake Laloozee lives the world's greatest flamingo detective. His name is Fabio....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sara and the Search for Normal

Wesley King · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"It's the vivid, insightful depiction of Sara's internal struggles that readers will remember." - BOOKLIST In this prequel to the Edgar Award-winning OCDaniel, fan-favorite Sara quests for "normal" and finds something even better along the way.Sara's Rules...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Like Nothing Amazing Ever Happened

Emily Blejwas · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A poignant story of a boy picking up the pieces of his life after the unexpected death of his father, and the loyalty, concern, and friendship he finds in his small-town community.Justin doesn't know anything these days. Like how to walk down the halls without getting stared at. Or what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dreams from Many Rivers: A Hispanic History of the United States Told in Poems

Margarita Engle · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning poet Margarita Engle comes Dreams from Many Rivers, an middle grade verse history of Latinos in the United States, told through many voices, and featuring illustrations by Beatriz Gutierrez Hernandez.From Juana Briones and Juan Ponce de León, to eighteenth century slaves...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stella Endicott and the Anything-Is-Possible Poem: Tales from Deckawoo Drive, Volume Five

Kate DiCamillo · Candlewick
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

Metaphor alert! An ode to a certain pig kicks off one wild school day in Kate DiCamillo's latest stop on Deckawoo Drive.Stella Endicott loves her teacher, Miss Liliana, and she is thrilled when the class is assigned to write a poem. Stella crafts a beautiful poem about Mercy Watson,...
Read More check catalog