Back | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Fiction  
Survivor Song: A Novel

Paul Tremblay · William Morrow
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A riveting novel of suspense and terror from the Bram Stoker award-winning author of The Cabin at the End of the World and A Head Full of Ghosts.In a matter of weeks, Massachusetts has been overrun by an insidious rabies-like virus that is spread by saliva. But unlike rabies, the disease...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Pull of the Stars: A Novel

Emma Donoghue · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Dublin, 1918: three days in a maternity ward at the height of the Great Flu. A small world of work, risk, death, and unlooked-for love, by the bestselling author of The Wonder and ROOMIn an Ireland doubly ravaged by war and disease, Nurse Julia Power works at an understaffed hospital in the city...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crossings

Alex Landragin · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Alex Landragin's Crossings is an unforgettable and explosive genre-bending debut -- a novel in three parts, designed to be read in two different directions, spanning a hundred and fifty years and seven lifetimes.On the brink of the Nazi occupation of Paris, a German-Jewish bookbinder...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Shadows: A Novel

Alex North · Celadon Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The haunting new thriller from Alex North, author of the New York Times bestseller The Whisper ManYou knew a teenager like Charlie Crabtree. A dark imagination, a sinister smile--always on the outside of the group. Some part of you suspected he might be capable of doing something awful....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Suicide House

Charlie Donlea · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A chilling murder in a prestigious prep school is at the heart of this riveting new novel from acclaimed author Charlie Donlea, featuring forensic reconstructionist Rory Moore and her psychologist partner, Lane Phillips. Inside the walls of Indiana's elite Westmont Preparatory High...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bone Jar

S W Kane · Thomas & Mercer
Pages: 333
Format: Paperback

The body of an elderly woman has been found in the bowels of a derelict asylum on the banks of the Thames. As Detective Lew Kirby and his partner begin their investigation, another body is discovered in the river nearby. How are the two murders connected?Before long, the secrets of Blackwater...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Florence Adler Swims Forever: A Novel

Rachel Beanland · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse. "Rachel Beanland...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Only Good Indians

Stephen Graham Jones · Gallery / Saga Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Seamlessly blending classic horror and a dramatic narrative with sharp social commentary, The Only Good Indians follows four American Indian men after a disturbing event from their youth puts them in a desperate struggle for their lives. Tracked by an entity bent on revenge, these childhood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Well-Behaved Indian Women

Saumya Dave · Berkley
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

From a compelling new voice in women's fiction comes a mother-daughter story about three generations of women who struggle to define themselves as they pursue their dreams. Simran Mehta has always felt harshly judged by her mother, Nandini, especially when it comes to her little "writing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Party Upstairs: A Novel

Lee Conell · Penguin Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An electrifying debut novel that unfolds in the course of a single day inside one genteel New York City apartment building, as tensions between the building's super and his grown-up daughter spark a crisis that will, by day's end, change everything.Ruby has a strange relationship...
Read More check catalog