Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Serpent & Dove

Shelby Mahurin · HarperTeen
Pages: 544
Format: Paperback

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned. As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Star Daughter

Shveta Thakrar · HarperTeen
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

"Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight." - New York Times bestselling author Holly BlackThis gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman's Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.The daughter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kind of a Big Deal

Shannon Hale · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling author Shannon Hale comes Kind of a Big Deal: a hilarious, deliciously readable YA novel that will suck you in -- literally.There's nothing worse than peaking in high school. Nobody knows that better than Josie Pie.She was kind of a big deal -- she dropped out of high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Black Kids

Christina Hammonds Reed · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"Infused with honesty, heart, and humor, The Black Kids is a true love letter to Los Angeles, highlighting the beauty and flaws of the city, and the people who call it home." - Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Say It First

Katie Cotugno · Balzer Bray
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

An addictive, irresistible YA novel about two teens from different worlds who fall for each other after a voter registration call turns into a long-distance romance - from Katie Cotugno, the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days. Perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi, Robin Benway,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Killed Zoe Spanos

Kit Frick · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"The YA thriller of the summer." - Bustle First print edition includes blue sprayed edges! For fans of Sadie and Serial, this gripping thriller follows two teens whose lives become inextricably linked when one confesses to murder and the other becomes determined to uncover the real...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Goddess in the Machine

Lora Beth Johnson · Razorbill
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet in this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising.When Andra wakes up, she's drowning....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aurora Burning

Amie Kaufman · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

Our heroes are back . . . kind of. From the bestselling co-authors of the Illuminae Files comes the second book in the epic Aurora Cycle series about a squad of misfits, losers, and discipline cases who just might be the galaxy's best hope for survival. First, the bad news: an ancient...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anna K: A Love Story

Jenny Lee · Flatiron Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Meet Anna K! Every happy teenage girl is the same, while every unhappy teenage girl is miserable in her own special way...At seventeen, Anna K is at the top of Manhattan and Greenwich society (even if she prefers the company of her horses and dogs) ; she has the perfect (if perfectly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'll Be the One

Lyla Lee · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity - perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy. Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn't dance. Wear bright colors....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Again Again

E. Lockhart · Delacorte Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In this novel full of surprises from the New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud, E. Lockhart ups the ante with an inventive and romantic story about human connection, forgiveness, self-discovery, and possibility.If you could live your life again, what would...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mall: A Novel

Megan McCafferty · Wednesday Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Megan McCafferty returns to her roots with this YA coming of age story set in a New Jersey mall.The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like, totally fresh. Cassie Worthy is psyched to spend the summer after graduation working at the Parkway...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stay Gold

Tobly McSmith · HarperTeen
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who's going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she's counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 672
Format: Hardcover

It's here! #1 bestselling author Stephenie Meyer makes a triumphant return to the world of Twilight with this highly-anticipated companion: the iconic love story of Bella and Edward told from the vampire's point of view.When Edward Cullen and Bella Swan met in Twilight, an iconic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hood

Jenny Elder Moke · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

You have the blood of kings and rebels within you, love. Let it rise to meet the call. Isabelle of Kirklees has only ever known a quiet life inside the sheltered walls of the convent, where she lives with her mother, Marien. But after she is arrested by royal soldiers for defending innocent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hawk

James Patterson · jimmy patterson
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A story for a new generation of Maximum Ride fans! Max's 17 year old daughter Hawk is growing up hard and fast in gritty, post-apocalyptic New York City. She stays under the radar to survive...until a destiny that's perilously close to her mother's forces her to take flight.Hawk...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Star Wars Queen's Peril

E. K. Johnston · Disney Lucasfilm Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Helvetica Neue'}When fourteen-year-old Padmé Naberrie wins the election for Queen of Naboo, she adopts the name Amidala and leaves her family to the rule from the royal palace. To keep her safe and secure, she'll need a group...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Faith: Taking Flight

Julie Murphy · Balzer Bray
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin', comes the first in a two-book origin story of Faith, a groundbreaking, plus-sized superhero from the Valiant Entertainment comics.Faith Herbert is a pretty regular teen. When she's not hanging out with her two best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Loop

Ben Oliver · Chicken House
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Life inside The Loop-the futuristic death row for teens under eighteen-is one long repetitive purgatory. But when news of the encroaching chaos in the outside world reaches the inmates and disorder begins to strike, the prison becomes the least of their worries. Perfect for fans of The Fifth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Illegal: A Disappeared Novel

Francisco X. Stork · Scholastic Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

What does it mean to be illegal in the United States?Life in Mexico is a death sentence for Emiliano and his sister Sara.To escape the violent cartel that is after them, they flee across the border, seeking a better life in the United States and hoping that they can find a way to bring...
Read More check catalog