Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears

Tehlor Kay Mejia · Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Space-obsessed 12-year-old Paola Santiago and her two best friends, Emma and Dante, know the rule: Stay away from the river. It's all they've heard since a schoolmate of theirs drowned a year ago. Pao is embarrassed to admit that she has been told to stay away for even longer than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Newton and Curie: The Science Squirrels

Daniel Kirk · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Daniel Kirk introduced kids to writing in his bestselling Library Mouse series - now he tackles STEAM!ScienceTechnologyEngineeringArtMath When an apple falls on his head, Newton the squirrel begins to wonder how the world works. Listening in on a lesson about the force of gravity, he decides...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Second Banana

Blair Thornburgh · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

The kids in Mrs. Millet's class are putting on their annual nutrition pageant. Every kid plays a food. Every kid gets a line. It is a big deal. But this year, there aren't quite enough parts for everybody. So the class is cast: Fish, Cheese, Broccoli, Blueberry, Banana, and . . . Second...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure

Jeff Kinney · Amulet Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

You've never seen the Wimpy Kid World like this before - an entirely new, awesome, friendly, truly fantastic fantasy quest from #1 international bestselling author Jeff Kinney!

From the imagination of Rowley Jefferson comes an adventure of epic proportions. Join Roland and his best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shiva

Demi · Wisdom Tales
Pages: 36
Format: Hardcover

Worshipped by millions of Hindus worldwide, Shiva ("the auspicious one") is the god of love, righteousness, forgiveness, longevity, protection, health, and prosperity. He is said to bring good fortune, grace, and compassion. Shiva is depicted as clothed in ashes, with the crescent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be a Math Wizard

DK · DK Children
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Bring math to life with this exciting new math activity book for kids.With 30 activities and crafts that children can play their way through, this kids' book takes the fear out of math--and gives you the skills to become a math expert. Children will find out that being a mathematician...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jumbo: The Making of the Boeing 747

Chris Gall


In 1968, the biggest passenger jet the world had ever seen premiered in Everett, Washington. The giant plane was called the Boeing 747, but reporters named it "the Jumbo jet."

There was only one problem. It couldn't fly. Yet.

Jumbo details th

Read More check catalog
 
 
Treasure Hunters: The Plunder Down Under

James Patterson · jimmy patterson
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The Kidds' parents are in trouble once again and the kids must traverse the Australian Outback, recover a pair of stolen gems, and defeat treasure hunting pirates to save them!The Kidd family is on their way to Australia to find Lasseter's Gold when they are challenged by fellow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bat and the End of Everything

Elana K. Arnold · Walden Pond Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

The third book in the funny and joyful series Katherine Applegate has called "tender and important," by National Book Award finalist Elana K. Arnold.

Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat) has been the caretaker for Thor, the best skunk kit in the world...but the last...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Purrfect Pranksters

Shannon Penney · Scholastic Paperbacks
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

Meet the Cutiecorns, adorable puppies with magical horns who get into all kinds of enchanting adventures.Puppypaw Island is being pranked, and Flash doesn't like it one bit! Someone has ruined the pups magic lesson and tried to sabotage movie night. When the prankster goes too far,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Call of the Sound Dragon: A Branches Book

Tracey West · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

Drake needs to stop a dangerous wizard battle in this action-packed, bestselling series!Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sea Life Secrets

Franklin W. Dixon · Aladdin
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

Detective brothers Frank and Joe fish for clues at the Bayport Aquarium in the twelfth book in the interactive Hardy Boys Clue Book series.Frank and Joe can't wait for their trip to the Bayport Aquarium. A new tide pool exhibit has just opened where visitors can learn all about horseshoe...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Den of Wolves

Jordan Quinn · Little Simon
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Prince Lucas and Clara discover a secret den of wolves in this fifteenth fantastical adventure of The Kingdom of Wrenly series.Dire wolves are among the rarest creatures in the Kingdom of Wrenly. They travel under the cloak of darkness, sleep during the day, and hunt in the deepest silence....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Silver Swamp: A Branches Book

Katrina Charman · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

Tag and Skyla must rescue Blaze, in this action-packed fantasy adventure series!Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Party Time

Anh Do · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Meet Hotdog, the wiener dog, and his friends! In this colorful illustrated chapter book series, Anh Do introduces us to a small hero with a big heart.It's Kev's birthday, so Hotdog and Lizzie are throwing him a surprise party! There'll be cake, games, and magic tricks! But will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
AstroNuts Mission One: The Plant Planet

Jon Scieszka · Chronicle Books
Pages: 220
Format: Hardcover

HITCHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY meets CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS in a funny, visually daring adventure series perfect for reluctant readers, teachers, and librarians alike.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Evil Thing

Serena Valentino · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Cruella De Vil is the perfect villain: stylish, witty, relentless...and possibly cursed. From her lonely childhood, to her iconic fashion choices, to that fateful car crash (you know the one) , Cruella tells all in this marvelous memoir of a woman doomed. Even the cruelest villains have...
Read More check catalog
 
 
CatStronauts: Digital Disaster

Drew Brockington · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

In the sixth CatStronauts graphic novel, the elite team gets invited to test the first-ever space hotel! With a highly sophisticated Artificial Intelligence running the hotel and attending to the CatStronauts' every need, what could possibly go wrong?Darby Fuzzelton, the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Doodleville

Chad Sell · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward and Raina Telgemeier's Smile comes an inventive new story from Cardboard Kingdom creator Chad Sell about a group of young artists who must work together when one of their own creations becomes a monster.Drew is just a regular artist. But there's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Garfield Easy as Pie: His 69th Book

Jim Davis · Ballantine Books
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback

Garfield's back in this brand-new full-color compilation comic strip book--truly a must-have for fans!Garfield returns--weighing more than ever!--for his 69th book. They're all here--Jon, Odie, Nermal, and, of course, our favorite fat cat, Garfield!
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Midwinter Witch

Molly Knox Ostertag · Graphix
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

The acclaimed graphic novel world of The Witch Boy and The Hidden Witch comes to a thrilling conclusion in this story of friendship, family, and finding your true power.

Magic has a dark side . . .

Aster always looks forward to the Midwinter Festival, a reunion...
Read More check catalog