Back | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  All Non-Fiction  
You're Not Enough

Allie Beth Stuckey · Sentinel
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Is your quest to love yourself more actually making you miserable?We're told that the key to happiness is self-love. Instagram influencers, mommy bloggers, self-help gurus, and even Christian teachers promise that if we learn to love ourselves, we'll be successful, secure, and complete....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Know My Name: A Memoir

Chanel Miller

Universally acclaimed, rapturously reviewed, and an instant New York Times bestseller, Chanel Miller's breathtaking memoir "gives readers the privilege of knowing her not just as Emily Doe, but as Chanel Miller the writer, the artist, the survivor, the fighter." (
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Socrates Express: In Search of Life Lessons from Dead Philosophers

Eric Weiner · Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Geography of Bliss embarks on a rollicking intellectual journey, following in the footsteps of history's greatest thinkers and showing us how each - from Epicurus to Gandhi, Thoreau to Beauvoir - offers practical and spiritual lessons for today's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beheld

TaraShea Nesbit · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of The Wives of Los Alamos comes a riveting story of the first murder in Plymouth, Massachusetts--a crime that shook the fledging colony to its core. It begins with a killing. Ten years after the Mayflower struck shore on rocky, unfamiliar soil, Plymouth is not the land...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Buddhist on Death Row: How One Man Found Light in the Darkest Place

David Sheff · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Boy explores the transformation of Jarvis Jay Masters who has become one of America's most inspiring Buddhist practitioners while locked in a cell on death row. Jarvis Jay Masters's early life was a horror story whose outline...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cult of Smart: How Our Broken Education System Perpetuates Social Injustice

Fredrik deBoer · All Points Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Everyone agrees that education is the key to creating a more just and equal world, and that our schools are broken and failing. Proposed reforms variously target incompetent teachers, corrupt union practices, or outdated curricula, but no one acknowledges a scientifically-proven fact that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chickens, Gin, and a Maine Friendship: The Correspondence of E. B. White and Edmund Ware Smith

E. B. White · Down East Books
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

During the 1950s and '60s, writers E.B. White and Edmund Ware Smith carried on a long correspondence by letter, despite living only a few miles apart on the coast of Maine. Often the letters were written from one or the other while they were traveling, but missing their homes and friends....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Change: My Great American, Postindustrial, Midlife Crisis Tour

Lori Soderlind · University of Wisconsin Press
Pages: 232
Format: Hardcover

In the throes of a classic midlife crisis, Lori Soderlind takes a sabbatical from her community college job as a journalism professor. She sets out to travel across America's rusting heart with her fourteen-year-old dog, Colby, and a used camping trailer. Making pit stops in places...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fear Is a Choice: Tackling Life's Challenges with Dignity, Faith, and Determination

James Conner · Harper
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

ACC Player of the Year and star Pittsburgh Steelers running back James Conner recounts his devastating struggle with cancer, revealing the lessons he drew from his miraculous recovery and his extraordinary comeback. During his first two years at the University of Pittsburgh, running back...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Finding Freedom: Harry and Meghan and the Making of a Modern Royal Family

Omid Scobie · Dey Street Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

When news of the budding romance between a beloved English prince and an American actress broke, it captured the world's attention and sparked an international media frenzy. But while the Duke and Duchess of Sussex have continued to make headlines - from their engagement, wedding, and birth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Look So Much Better in Person: True Stories of Absurdity and Success

Al Roker · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Dick Van Dyke's Keep Moving and Dan Rather's Rather Outspoken, Today co-anchor Al Roker presents a humorous collection of essays based on lessons for living a happy life and achieving success through the power of saying "yes!"From America's favorite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Get a Green Card

Ilona Bray J.D.

The U.S. immigration system is an enormous bureaucracy, so it's vital that you understand it before attempting to apply for a green card. Making a mistake can lead to delays and hassles or even ruin your chances for success.

How to Get a Green Card provides ever

Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is All I Got: A New Mother's Search for Home

Lauren Sandler


Camila is twenty-two years old and a new mother. She has no family to rely on, no partner, and no home. Despite her intelligence and determination, the odds are firmly stacked against her. In this extraordinary work of literary reportage, Lauren Sandler chronicles a year in C
Read More check catalog
 
 
Memorial Drive: A Daughter's Memoir

Natasha Trethewey · Ecco
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A chillingly personal and exquisitely wrought memoir of a daughter reckoning with the brutal murder of her mother at the hands of her former stepfather, and the moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of a tragedyAt age nineteen, Natasha Trethewey had her world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hustle Harder, Hustle Smarter

Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson · Amistad
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

For the first time, Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson opens up about his amazing comeback -- from tragic personal loss to thriving businessman and cable's highest-paid executive -- in this unique self-help guide, his first since his blockbuster New York Times bestseller The 50th Law.In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When the Light of the World Was Subdued, Our Songs Came Through: A Norton Anthology of Native Nations Poetry

Joy Harjo · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

The first historically comprehensive Native poetry anthology, without which no study of American poetry is complete.United States Poet Laureate Joy Harjo gathers the work of more than 160 poets, representing nearly 100 indigenous nations, into one momentous volume. This landmark anthology...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Wife Said You May Want to Marry Me: A Memoir

Jason B. Rosenthal

An inspiring memoir of life, love, loss, and new beginnings by the widower of bestselling children's author and filmmaker Amy Krouse Rosenthal, whose last of act of love before her death was setting the stage for her husband's life without her in the viral New York Times Modern

Read More check catalog
 
 
Fortitude: American Resilience in the Era of Outrage

Dan Crenshaw

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Arial; color: #201f1e} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; text-indent: 36.0px; font: 12.0px Arial; color: #201f1e} p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Arial; color: #201f1e} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Innovation Works: And Why It Flourishes in Freedom

Matt Ridley · Harper
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Building on his national bestseller The Rational Optimist, Matt Ridley chronicles the history of innovation, and how we need to change our thinking on the subject.Innovation is the main event of the modern age, the reason we experience both dramatic improvements in our living standards...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Creative Care: A Revolutionary Approach to Dementia and Elder Care

Anne Basting

A MacArthur Genius Grant recipient pioneers a radical change in how we interact with older loved ones, especially those experiencing dementia, as she introduces a proven method that uses the creative arts to bring light and joy to the lives of elders.

In Creative

Read More check catalog
 
 
No Ordinary Dog: My Partner from the SEAL Teams to the Bin Laden Raid

Will Chesney





Two dozen Navy SEALs descended on Osama bin Laden's compound in May 2011. After the mission, only one name was made public: Cairo, a Belgian Malinois and military working dog. This is Cairo's story, and that of his handler, Will Chesney, a SEAL Team Operator wh

Read More check catalog
 
 
Open Book

Jessica Simpson

The #1 New York Times Bestseller

Jessica reveals for the first time her inner monologue and most intimate struggles. Guided by the journals she's kept since age fifteen, and brimming with her unique humor and down-to-earth humanity, Open Book is as inspiring as it is ente

Read More check catalog
 
 
Unofficial Guide to FamilySearch.org: How to Find Your Family History on the Largest Free Genealogy Website

Dana McCullough · Family Tree Books
Format: Paperback

Master the #1 Free Genealogy Website!Discover your ancestry on FamilySearch.org, the world's largest free genealogy website. This in-depth user guide shows you how to find your family in the site's databases of more than 3.5 billion names and millions of digitized historical records...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Vanishing Country: A Memoir

Bakari Sellers · Amistad
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

What J. D. Vance did for Appalachia with Hillbilly Elegy, CNN analyst and one of the youngest state representatives in South Carolina history Bakari Sellers does for the rural South, in this important book that illuminates the lives of America's forgotten black working-class men and women.Part...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cross of Snow: A Life of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Nicholas A. Basbanes · Knopf
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

A major literary biography of America's best-loved nineteenth-century poet, the first in more than fifty years, and a much-needed reassessment for the twenty-first century of a writer whose stature and celebrity were unparalleled in his time, whose work helped to explain America's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In the Shadow of the Valley: A Memoir

Bobi Conn · Little A
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A clear-eyed and compassionate memoir of the Appalachian experience by a woman who embraced its astonishing beauty, narrowly escaped its violence, and struggles to call it home.Bobi Conn was raised in a remote Kentucky holler in 1980s Appalachia. She remembers her tin-roofed house tucked...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird but Normal: Essays

Mia Mercado · HarperOne
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Birth control. Body hair removal cream. Boobs. It's all weird, but also pretty normal.Navigating racial identity, gender roles, workplace dynamics, and beauty standards, Mia Mercado's hilarious essay collection explores the contradictions of being a millennial woman, which usually...
Read More check catalog