Back Psychology & Philosophy | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Psychology & Philosophy  
Payoff: The Hidden Logic That Shapes Our Motivations

Dan Ariely · Ted
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

Bestselling author Dan Ariely reveals fascinating new insights into motivation - showing that the subject is far more complex than we ever imagined.

Every day we work hard to motivate ourselves, the people we live with, the people who work for and do business with us. In this way,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Skin in the Game: Hidden Asymmetries in Daily Life

Nassim Nicholas Taleb · Random House
Pages: 279
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Black Swan, a bold new work that challenges many of our long-held beliefs about risk and reward, politics and religion, finance and personal responsibility

In his most provocative and practical book yet, one of the foremost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Global Discontents: Conversations on the Rising Threats to Democracy

Noam Chomsky · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Global Discontents is a compelling set of interviews with Noam Chomsky, who identifies the "dry kindling" of discontent around the world that could soon catch fire.

In wide-ranging interviews with David Barsamian, his longtime interlocutor, Noam Chomsky asks us to consider...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Talk With Your Kids: Conversations About Ethics -- Honesty, Friendship, Sensitivity, Fairness, Dedication, Individuality -- and 103 Other Things That Really Matter

Michael Parker · Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers
Format: Paperback

A guide for parents to help their children better understand the world around them by helping them think through the questions they face regarding honesty, friendship, sensitivity, fairness, dedication, individuality and 103 other character-building issuesMany families and almost all schools...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Helping Your Anxious Teen: Positive Parenting Strategies to Help Your Teen Beat Anxiety, Stress, and Worry

Sheila Achar Josephs PhD · New Harbinger Publications
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

"... thoughtful tools for helping young people help themselves."
- Library Journal

Parenting a teen isn't easy, but parenting an anxious teen is especially challenging. Written by a psychologist and expert on adolescent anxiety, this essential book will show...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A.D.H.D. Nation: Children, Doctors, Big Pharma, and the Making of an American Epidemic

Alan Schwarz · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

The groundbreaking and definitive account of the widespread misdiagnosis of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder - and how its unchecked growth over half a century has made ADHD one of the most controversial conditions in medicine, with serious effects on children, adults, and society.

More...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Civil Wars: A History in Ideas

David Armitage · Alfred A Knopf
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

A highly original history, tracing the least understood and most intractable form of organized human aggression from Ancient Rome through the centuries to the present day.

We think we know civil war when we see it. Yet ideas of what it is, and what it isn't, have a long and contested...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog

Patricia B McConnell · Atria Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will.

World-renowned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance

Angela Duckworth · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed - be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people - that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a special blend of passion and persistence...
Read More check catalog