Back Children's Books | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Books  
A Brave Bear

Sean Taylor · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

What is the bravest thing in the world? A brave bear, of course! And who is the best at helping a little bear feel brave? His dad.It is a hot, hot day. Dad Bear says, "I think a pair of hot bears is probably the hottest thing in the world." So Little Bear suggests they go to the river...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unti Silva Novel #5

Daniel Silva · Harper
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

#1 NYT Bestseller

#1 USA Bestseller

#1 WSJ Bestseller

An Amazon Editors' Best Book of the Year

A Kirkus Best Fiction Book of the Year

An iBooks Book of the Month

"The novel's grand finale is heart-stopping, unexpected and deeply unsettling."...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Sometimes I Forget You're a Robot

Sam Brown · Dial
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Todd Parr and Oliver Jeffers comes this debut picture book about a boy and his robot friend from the creator of the popular crowd-sourced comic blog, explodingdog.comFor a little boy who’s always dreamed of having his own robot, actually getting one isn’t what he expected...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Trap a Leprechaun

Sue Fliess · Sky Pony Pr
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Legend has it that if you catch a leprechaun, he'll grant you a wish. But, be careful! Leprechauns are full of trickery. To catch one, you'll need to be clever in crafting your trap. Grab some glitter and glue and get prepared for your wily holiday visitors!On the night before St. Patrick's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Pledge Allegiance

Pat Mora · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Libby's great aunt, Lobo, is from Mexico, but the United States has been her home for many years, and she wants to become a U.S. citizen. At the end of the week, Lobo will say the Pledge of Allegiance at a special ceremony. Libby is also learning the Pledge this week, at school—at...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Bird Hill

Jane Yolen · Cornell Lab Publishing Group
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

From iconic award-winning and NY Times bestselling children's author of more than 350 books, Jane Yolen, and award-winning illustrator, Bob Marstall, On Bird Hill is a wonderful new picture book created in collaboration with the esteemed Cornell Lab of Ornithology, the world authority...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Worry Box

SUZANNE CHIEW · Tiger Tales
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Murray Bear is supposed to go to the waterfall with his sister, Molly, to meet a friend, but Murray is worried. “What if it’s too LOUD?” he cries or “Or what if I get swept away!” So Molly tells him about her special worry box. “When I’m worried about something,”...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marc Brown's Playtime Rhymes: A Treasury for Families to Learn and Play Together

Marc Brown · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Fingers ready?Fingers set?Fingers play!Its time for Playtime Rhymes-a treasury of twenty favorite finger rhymes compiled and illustrated by the bestselling and beloved artist Marc Brown for the enjoyment of young and old. From the clever Whoops! Johnny and funny Do Your Ears Hang Low? to the irrepressible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Poppy Pickle

Emma Yarlett · Candlewick Press
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Poppy gets into a major pickle when her imagination comes alive!

Poppy has the most extraordinary imagination. When she is sent upstairs to clean her room, she just can't help imagining, and suddenly . . . her imagination literally comes alive. Soon her room is jam-packed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Do Dinosaurs Say I'm Mad!

Jane Yolen · The Blue Sky Press; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

R-O-A-R! What happens when little dinosaurs get mad? And how do they calm down?Brimming with humor, this sparkling new book handles a timeless children's topic with wit and wisdom. Romp and stomp! Roar and slam! Almost everyone gets angry. But how can young dinosaurs also learn to calm...
Read More check catalog