Back Science | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
The Tangled Tree: A Radical New History of Life

David Quammen · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Nonpareil science writer David Quammen explains how recent discoveries in molecular biology can change our understanding of evolution and life's history, with powerful implications for human health and even our own human nature.

In the mid-1970s, scientists began using DNA sequences...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic People of the World: Cultures and Traditions, Ancestry and Identity

Catherine Herbert Howell · National Geographic Soc
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

From the heart of National Geographic comes this expansive guide to the clans, tribes, ethnicities, and peoples of the world. Organized in keeping with our knowledge of the migration of human groups through history, with statistics and a cultural portrait of each ethnic group, the book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Inheritance: A Family on the Front Lines of the Battle Against Alzheimer's Disease

Niki Kapsambelis · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 344
Format: Hardcover

An inspiring race against time: The courageous, hopeful story of the one family who may hold the key to finding a cure for Alzheimer's disease.

Every sixty-nine seconds, someone is diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Of the top ten killers, it is the only disease for which there...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Skeptics' Guide to the Universe: How to Know What's Really Real in a World Increasingly Full of Fake

Steven Novella · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

An all-encompassing guide to skeptical thinking in the popular The Skeptics Guide to the Universe podcast's dryly humorous, accessible style, which Professor Richard Wiseman calls the "the perfect primer for anyone who wants to separate fact from fiction."
It's intimidating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Idiot Brain: What Your Head Is Really Up To

Dean Burnett · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A delightful tour of our mysterious, mischievous gray matter from neuroscientist and massively popular Guardian blogger Dean Burnett.

The brain may be the seat of consciousness and the engine of all human experience, but it's also messy, fallible, and disorganized. For example,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Hole Blues and Other Songs from Outer Space

Janna Levin · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

The authoritative story of the headline-making discovery of gravitational waves - by an eminent theoretical astrophysicist and award-winning writer.From the author of How the Universe Got Its Spots and A Madman Dreams of Turing Machines, the epic story of the scientific campaign to record...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Ruth Kassinger · HarperCollins Publishers
Pages: 395
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.

In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.

Sleep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lab Girl

Hope Jahren · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

A New York Times 2016 Notable Book
National Best Seller
Named one of TIME magazine's "100 Most Influential People"
An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
A Washington Post Best Memoir of 2016
A TIME and Entertainment Weekly Best Book...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Science of Rick and Morty: The Unofficial Guide to Earth's Stupidest Show

Matt Brady · Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Explore the real science behind the Cartoon Network phenomenon Rick and Morty - one of television's most irreverent, whip-smart, and darkly hilarious shows - and discover how close we are to Rick's many experiments becoming a reality. Adult Swim's Rick and Morty is one of the smartest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dataclysm: Who We Are

Christian Rudder · Crown
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times BestsellerAn audacious, irreverent investigation of human behavior—and a first look at a revolution in the making   Our personal data has been used to spy on us, hire and fire us, and sell us stuff we dont need. In Dataclysm, Christian Rudder uses it to show us who we truly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Things, Wild Places: Adventurous Tales of Wildlife and Conservation on Planet Earth

Jane Alexander · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A moving, inspiring, personal look at the vastly changing world of wildlife on planet earth as a result of human incursion, and the crucial work of animal and bird preservation across the globe being done by scientists, field biologists, zoologists, environmentalists, and conservationists....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Beginning of Infinity: Explanations That Transform the World

David Deutsch · Penguin Books
Pages: 487
Format: Paperback

The New York Times bestseller: A provocative, imaginative exploration of the nature and progress of knowledgeIn this groundbreaking book, award-winning physicist David Deutsch argues that explanations have a fundamental place in the universe - and that improving them is the basic regulating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dinosaurs: How They Lived and Evolved

Darren Naish · Smithsonian Books
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Dinosaurs are one of the most spectacular groups of animals that have ever existed. Many were fantastic, bizarre creatures that still capture our imagination: the super-predator Tyrannosaurus, the plate-backed Stegosaurus, and the long-necked, long-tailed Diplodocus....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gravity's Century: From Einstein's Eclipse to Images of Black Holes

Ron Cowen · Harvard University Press
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping account of the century of experimentation that confirmed Einstein's general theory of relativity, bringing to life the science and scientists at the origins of relativity, the development of radio telescopes, the discovery of black holes and quasars, and the still unresolved...

Read More check catalog