Back Science | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
My Plastic Brain: One Woman's Yearlong Journey to Discover If Science Can Improve Her Mind

Caroline Williams · Prometheus Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Using herself as a guinea pig, a science journalist explores "neuroplasticity" to find out whether she can make meaningful, lasting changes to the way her brain works.

In books like THE HAPPINESS PROJECT, THE NO-SPEND YEAR, and THE YEAR OF YES, individuals have tried a specific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond Weird: Why Everything You Thought You Knew about Quantum Physics Is Different

Philip Ball · University of Chicago Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"Anyone who is not shocked by quantum theory has not understood it."

Since Niels Bohr said this many years ago, quantum mechanics has only been getting more shocking. We now realize that it's not really telling us that "weird" things happen out of sight, on the tiniest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind: My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Barbara K Lipska · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness - only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cosmopolitan Tradition: A Noble but Flawed Ideal

Martha C. Nussbaum · Belknap Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From one of our preeminent philosophers -- winner of the Berggruen Prize -- a work that engages critically with important examples of the cosmopolitan ideal from ancient Greece and Rome to the present.The cosmopolitan political tradition in Western thought begins with the Greek Cynic Diogenes,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One-Minute Workout: Science Shows a Way to Get Fit That's Smarter, Faster, Shorter

Christopher Shulgan · Avery Pub Group
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Finally, the solution to the #1 reason we don't exercise: time. Everyone has one minute.

A decade ago, Martin Gibala was a young researcher in the field of exercise physiology - with little time to exercise. That critical point in his career launched a passion for high-intensity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carnivorous Plants

Dan Torre · Reaktion Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Carnivorous plants are a unique botanical group, possessing modified leaves to trap, kill, and consume small creatures. As a result they are often depicted as killers in films and literature - from Audrey in Little Shop of Horrors to the world-dominating plants of The Day of the Triffids...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tracing Your Scottish Ancestry through Church and State Records: A Guide for Family Historians

Chris Paton · Pen and Sword Family History
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

Despite its Union with England and Wales in 1707, Scotland remained virtually independent from its partners in many ways, retaining its own legal system, its own state church, and its own education system.In Tracing Scottish Ancestry Through Church and State Records, genealogist Chris Paton...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity

Peter Collier · Incomprehensible Books
Pages: 274
Format: Paperback

A straightforward, enjoyable guide to the mathematics of Einstein's relativity - THE AMAZON BESTSELLER To really understand Einstein's theory of relativity - one of the cornerstones of modern physics - you have to get to grips with the underlying mathematics. This self-study guide...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chancing It: The Laws of Chance and How They Can Work for You

Robert Matthews · Skyhorse Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Make your own luck by understanding probabilityOver the years, some very smart people have thought they understood the rules of chance? only to fail dismally. Whether you call it probability, risk, or uncertainty, the workings of chance often defy common sense. Fortunately, advances in math...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Evolution's Bite: A Story of Teeth, Diet, and Human Origins

PETER S UNGAR · Princeton University Press
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

What teeth can teach us about the evolution of the human speciesWhether we realize it or not, we carry in our mouths the legacy of our evolution. Our teeth are like living fossils that can be studied and compared to those of our ancestors to teach us how we became human. In Evolution's...
Read More check catalog