Back Ages 4-8 | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 4-8  
My First Coding Book

Dorling Kindersley, Inc. · DK Children
Pages: 24
Format: Board book

Teach kids as young as 5 years old the basic programming skills necessary to code, including sequencing and loops, without a computer.It's never too early to learn computer coding. With interactive paper engineering, My First Coding Book is a playful, hands-on introduction to offline...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Love the Earth

Todd Parr · LB Kids
Pages: 20
Format: Board book

With his signature blend of playfulness and sensitivity, bestselling author Todd Parr explores the important, timely subject of environmental protection and conservation in this board book.This adaptation of The Earth Book includes child friendly reasons to love our planet--from appreciating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Action Jackson

Jan Greenberg · Square Fish
Pages: 32
Format: Paperback

One late spring morning the American artist Jackson Pollock began work on the canvas that would ultimately come to be known as Number 1, 1950 (Lavender Mist) .Award-winning authors Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan use this moment as the departure point for a unique picture book about a great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bad Guy

Hannah Rodgers Barnaby · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Sibling rivalry reaches new heights in this delightfully tongue-in-cheek picture book that's perfect for fans of Lauren Castillo's The Troublemaker.Being a bad guy can be lots of fun. You can trap all of the superheroes in a cage with hungry lions or sail the ocean and keep all the treasure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Science Comics: Dinosaurs: Fossils and Feathers

MK Reed · First Second
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

Every volume of Science Comics offers a complete introduction to a particular topic--dinosaurs, coral reefs, the solar system, volcanoes, bats, flying machines, and more. These gorgeously illustrated graphic novels offer wildly entertaining views of their subjects. Whether you're a fourth...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Fiona the Hippo

Richard Cowdrey · Zonderkidz
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Fiona the Hippo, by New York Times bestselling artist Richard Cowdrey of Bad Dog, Marley fame, tells the story of Fiona, the adorable internet sensation from the Cincinnati Zoo who captured hearts around the world with her inspiring story and plucky personality.

Born prematurely,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Guinness World Records: Remarkable Robots

Delphine Finnegan · Harpercollins Childrens B
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

A brand-new Guinness World Records book for kids!From a robot babysitter to the largest walking and fire-breathing robot, this book is filled with record-breaking androids of all shapes, sizes, and occupations! Simple text and full-color photos will make learning about this exciting topic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Power Up

Seth Fishman · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The companion to the popular and award-winning A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars.

This captivating and educational picture book from Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg introduces young readers to basic facts about energy and the human body. Fun, informative and accessible, Power...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Being Jackie

MARGARET CARDILLO · Balzer Bray
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A stunning and inspirational nonfiction picture book about the life and style of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis from Margaret Cardillo and Julia Denos, the team that created Just Being Audrey. Jackie Kennedy was an American icon of style and grace - but there was steel under that style. Her poise...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Penguin and the Lollipop

TADGH BENTLEY · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Full of funny faces, underwater friends, and razzle dazzle seaweed lollipops, here comes the hilarious and charming sequel to Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups! Perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos and The Monster at the End of This Book.

Little Penguin has a problem ... his friend...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Vroom!

Barbara McClintock · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Join a little girl as she zooms --
past fields and forests,
up mountains,
over rivers,
through deserts,
home again,
and into bed in this playful picture book about the power of imagination, from award-winning author and artist Barbara McClintock.

Read More check catalog
 
 
Moon! Earth's Best Friend

Stacy McAnulty · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From writer Stacy McAnulty and illustrator Stevie Lewis, Moon! Earth's Best Friend is a light-hearted nonfiction picture book about the formation and history of the moon -- told from the perspective of the moon itself...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Save the Rainbow!

KRISTEN L DEPKEN · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 24
Format: Library Binding

A Step 2 deluxe Step into Reading leveled reader featuring Nickelodeon's Shimmer and Shine--plus a glitter cover and stickers! When a sneezy bug causes Nickelodeon's Shimmer and Shine to get sick and sneeze uncontrollably, it's up to Leah to find the cure for her two favorite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jesus Is Born

Sophie Piper · Good Books
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

No story is more beloved - or more often told - than the story of the first Christmas, when Jesus was born. In text that echoes the language of the Gospels of Luke and Matthew, Jesus Is Born tells the entire story of the nativity, from the angel Gabriel's awe-inspiring message to the Virgin...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Puppy Pirates Super Special #2: Best in Class

ERIN SODERBERG · RANDOM House
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

Go back to school with the puppy pirates! Welcome aboard! There is a new pup joining the crew of the Salty Bone. She is super excited, but she doesn't know the first thing about being a pirate. Luckily, Wally and the other pups will teach her - at pirate school! Mast climbing, map reading,...
Read More check catalog