Back New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction  
Rise of the Halfling King

David Bowles · Cinco Puntos Press
Pages: 64
Format: Paperback

has always been different from other kids -- he's very short for his age, his best friend is a monkey, and most curious of all: he was born from an egg! His grandmother, a witch, found him and taught him all the ancient magic she uses to help her people. So when a giant snake starts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Real American: The Life of Ely S. Parker, Seneca Sachem and Civil War General

Joseph Bruchac · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 248
Format: Hardcover

Ely S. Parker (1828-1895) is one of the most unique but little-known figures in US history. A member of the Seneca (Iroquois) Nation, Parker was an attorney, engineer, and tribal diplomat. Raised on a reservation but schooled at a Catholic institution, he learned English at a young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Breaking the News: What's Real, What's Not, and Why the Difference Matters

Mary Newton Bruder · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 160
Format: Book

Headlines leap out at us from mobile phones, TV screens, computers, newspapers, and everywhere we turn. Technology has opened up exciting new ways to tell interesting stories, but how much of it is news ... and how much is just noise? This refreshing and up-to-date media literacy book...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Cat Ninja

Matthew Cody
Format: Hardcover

Raised from a kitten by a kindly old ninja master, Claude now spends his days as the pampered house cat of an eleven-year-old boy. But when trouble arises, Claude dons his mask and springs into action as Cat Ninja - Metro City's secret protector! In Book 1 of the series, follow our feline...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crayola: Create It Yourself: 52 Colorful DIY Craft Projects for Kids to Create Throughout the Year

Crayola · Black Dog & Leventhal
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Crayola has been unleashing creativity and self-expression for the last 117 years. Since early 2018, their CIY (Create It Yourself) videos have showcased new and exciting ways for kids ages six and up to use Crayola products to create Instagram-worthy works of art.Crayola: Create It Yourself...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Serena Says

Tanita S. Davis · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Award-winning author Tanita S. Davis delivers a heartwarming and humorous middle grade tale about a young Black girl who finds her own voice through vlogging and learns to speak out. Perfect for fans for Sharon M. Draper and Lisa Greenwald.JC shines like a 4th of July sparkler. She has the best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Countries of the World

DK · DK Children
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Every country profile is full of photos, and each nation has a full-color map detailing its main cities, landscape features, and borders, and exactly where in the world they are. At-a-glance panels provide a quick reference to all the stats, and the easy-to-read text is full of fascinating,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
LEGO® Minifigure A Visual History New Edition

Gregory Farshtey

Enter the world of minifigures with this fully updated edition. The first minifigure was created in 1978, and today the entire minifigure population could circle the globe more than five times!

Starring more than 2,000 of the most popular and rarest minifigures from the LEG
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 Immigrant Women Who Changed the World

Elena Favilli · Rebel Girls
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The latest installment in the New York Times bestselling Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls series, featuring 100 immigrant women who have shaped, and will continue to shape, our world.Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 Immigrant Women Who Changed the World is the third book in the New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kondo & Kezumi Visit Giant Island

David Goodner · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

Kondo is big. Kezumi is little. They lived on an island with fruit trees and berry bushes and flitter-birds and fluffle-bunnies.When a surprise bottle washes ashore, they discover a map with a mysterious message: WE ARE NOT ALONE. Kezumi wants to follow the map and explore the world. Kondo...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 Good Reasons Not to Grow Up

Jimmy Gownley · Graphix
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

To the students at exclusive Greycliff Academy, Kirby seems to have it all: charm, brains, and a lucky streak that won't quit. He's also the notorious mastermind behind the snarky videos, "7 Good Reasons Not to Grow Up," which expose how being an adult isn't all it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Smartest Kid in the Universe

Chris Grabenstein · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Bestselling Author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and coauthor of Max Einstein! "For centuries, humans have consumed information through their eyes and our ears," said Dr. Backbridge. "Here is my prediction. In the not-too-distant future, we are going to ingest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out of Hiding: A Holocaust Survivor's Journey to America

Ruth Gruener · Scholastic Nonfiction
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Ruth Gruener was a hidden child during the Holocaust. At the end of the war, she and her parents were overjoyed to be free. But their struggles as displaced people had just begun.In war-ravaged Europe, they waited for paperwork for a chance to come to America. Once they arrived in Brooklyn,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl Giant and the Monkey King

Van Hoang · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From debut author Van Hoang comes Girl Giant and the Monkey King, a tale packed with magic, adventure, and middle-school woes -- perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Roshani Chokshi. Eleven-year-old Thom Ngho is keeping a secret: she's strong. Like suuuuper strong. Freakishly strong....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girls Who Build: Inspiring Curiosity and Confidence to Make Anything Possible

Katie Hughes
Format: Paperback

Carpenter Katie Hughes frequently found that she was the only woman on construction worksites. To change that, she began teaching classes to girls ages 8-14, showing them how to drill, saw, and weld. Her classes quickly became sold out summer camps and she founded her own non-profit, Girls...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Distress Signal

Mary E. Lambert · Scholastic Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Lavender's class is on a field trip in the desert of Chiricahua National Monument, hiking down a ravine, when a flash flood strikes!As the water hurtles down the ravine, everyone sprints for safety. Lavender runs in the opposite direction as the rest of her class and scrambles up a tree...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Space Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition: A Tour of Our Solar System and Beyond

National Geographic · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

The updated and expanded edition of the hit Space Encyclopedia presents the most up-to-date findings on space exploration and research and breathtaking views of the universe, as captured by the latest and greatest technology, including the recent first ever image of a black hole. This complete...
Read More check catalog
 
 
History Comics: The Challenger Disaster: Tragedy in the Skies

Pranas T. Naujokaitis
Format: Paperback

In History Comics: The Challenger Disaster, we turn the clock back to January 28, 1986. Seven astronauts boarded the space shuttle Challenger on what would be a routine mission. All eyes and cameras were on crew member Christa McAuliffe, a high school teacher, who was set to become the first...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anya and the Nightingale

Sofiya Pasternack

It's been a year since a violent Viking terrorized the small village of Zmeyreka and Anya and her foolish friend Ivan saved a friendly dragon from being sacrificed for his magic.

But things still aren't safe in the kingdom of Kievan Rus'.

After embarking on a jour
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cat Kid Comic Club

Dav Pilkey · Graphix
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

A brand-new graphic novel series by Dav Pilkey, the internationally bestselling author and illustrator of the Dog Man and Captain Underpants series. Welcome to the Cat Kid Comic Club, where Li'l Petey (LP) , Flippy, and Molly introduce twenty-one rambunctious, funny, and talented...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Land of the Cranes

Aida Salazar · Scholastic Press
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the prolific author of The Moon Within comes the heart-wrenchingly beautiful story in verse of a young Latinx girl who learns to hold on to hope and love even in the darkest of places: a family detention center for migrants and refugees.Nine-year-old Betita knows she is a crane. Papi...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Don't Judge Me

Lisa Schroeder · Scholastic Press
Pages: 256
Format: Book

Well-behaved girls seldom make historyHazel doesn't like to make waves. Middle school is hard enough without causing more trouble, right? She's happy just eating lunch in the library with her BFF, writing secret haikus, and taking care of an adorable rescue tortoise.But then...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Ultimate Rockopedia: The Most Complete Rocks & Minerals Reference Ever

Steve Tomaceck · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Welcome to the amazing world of rocks and minerals! Let's start at the very beginning, with an introduction to the origin of our rocky planet, then move on to explore the world of igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic rocks. You'll discover how they form, what makes them unique,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Milk Bar: Kids Only

Christina Tosi · Clarkson Potter
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback

Dedicated to the next generation of young bakers, Milk Bar: Kids Only presents more than eighty-five fun and empowering recipes to inspire imagination in the kitchen, from Apple Pie Waffles to PB&J Cereal Treats to Strawberries and Cream Cupcakes to marshmallowy Choco Crunch Cookies....
Read More check catalog