Back New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction | October Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction  
Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds

Samira Ahmed · ‎Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

On the day of a rare super blue blood moon eclipse, twelve-year-old Amira and her little brother, Hamza, can't stop their bickering while attending a special exhibit on medieval Islamic astronomy. While stargazer Amira is wowed by the amazing gadgets, a bored Hamza wanders off, stumbling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Josephine Against the Sea

Shakirah Bourne · Scholastic Inc.
Format: Hardcover

Meet Josephine, the most loveable mischief-maker in Barbados, in a magical, heartfelt adventure inspired by Caribbean mythology.Eleven-year-old Josephine knows that no one is good enough for her daddy. That's why she makes a habit of scaring his new girlfriends away. She's desperate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cuba in My Pocket

Adrianna Cuevas
Format: Hardcover

"I don't remember. Tell me everything, Pepito. Tell me about Cuba."When the failed Bay of Pigs invasion in 1961 solidifies Castro's power in Cuba, twelve-year-old Cumba's family makes the difficult decision to send him to Florida alone. Faced with the prospect of living...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Mythical Beasts and Magical Creatures: Meet your favourite monsters, fairies, heroes, and tricksters from all around th

DK · DK Children
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Enter the enchanting world of mythical creatures and explore the history behind them in this beautifully illustrated compendium for kids aged 7 to 9.You'll meet an incredible cast of mind-boggling fictional animals from all around the world. Say hello to Bigfoot in the forests of North...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Ghost Hoax

Emily Ecton · ‎Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Butterbean is bored. She and the other pets pulled off a heist once, but that was like a million years ago. Nothing exciting has happened since then. That is, until Mrs. Third Floor shows up at their apartment, convinced there's a ghost in the building. Mrs. Third Floor's rental...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Find What You're Not Looking For

Veera Hiranandani · ‎Kokila
Format: Book

Twelve-year-old Ariel Goldberg's life feels like the moment after the final guest leaves the party. Her family's Jewish bakery runs into financial trouble, and her older sister has eloped with a young man from India following the Supreme Court decision that strikes down laws...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Recognize!: An Anthology Honoring and Amplifying Black Life

Wade Hudson · ‎Crown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

"A multifaceted, sometimes disheartening, yet consistently enriching primer on the unyielding necessity of those three words: Black Lives Matter." -Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review BLACK LIVES HAVE ALWAYS MATTERED. Prominent Black creators lend their voice, their insight, and their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mindy Kim and the Big Pizza Challenge

Lyla Lee · Aladdin
Format: Paperback

Mindy Kim loves food - from her beloved Korean staples to pizza! When a local pizza place advertises a trivia competition, Mindy can't believe that the big prize is unlimited pizza for a whole year! Mindy is confident she and her dad can take the top spot. But Dad is worried he might...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Brackenbeast

Kate Alice Marshall · Viking Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Last Halloween, Eleanor, Pip, and Otto narrowly escaped the clutches of the evil January Society and their leader. But life in the too-quiet Eden Eld isn't safe just yet: according to the bargain they made with Mr. January, it's now his sister's turn to hunt the three of them....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Norse Myths

Matt Ralphs · DK Children
Format: Hardcover

Exciting stories, extraordinary creatures, and compelling gods, goddesses, and heroes come together in this compendium of Norse myths--first told long ago by the Vikings. Perfect for children ages 7 to 9, this collection contains more than 30 enthralling new retellings.Read about Thor,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Climate Action: The Future is in Your Hands

Georgina Stevens · 360 Degrees
Format: Hardcover

In this book about climate change, we share the facts. But we also share hope.Learn about the causes of climate change and how it is affecting our world. Explore the human impact and what it means to have a carbon footprint. Read about innovative ideas for tackling climate breakdown. Be inspired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lotería

Karla Arenas Valenti · ‎Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

A perilous game of chance.A journey among myths and monsters.A girl whose fate hangs in the balance... It is the hottest hour of the hottest day in Oaxaca City when Life and Death walk into town, ready to begin a new game of la Lotería. But first, they need a pawn, a child whose fate will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Junior Astrologer's Handbook: A Kid's Guide to Astrological Signs, the Zodiac, and More

Nikki Van De Car · Running Press Kids
Format: Hardcover

Harness the power of your signs to navigate friendships, family, and school. Invoking mindfulness, self-care, creativity, and a connection with nature, The Junior Astrologer's Handbook is the perfect guide to teach young readers the art of astrology.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird Kid

Greg Van Eekhout
Format: Hardcover

From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don't belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb. Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Born Behind Bars

Padma Venkatraman · ‎Nancy Paulsen Books
Format: Hardcover

Kabir has been in jail since the day he was born, because his mom is serving time for a crime she didn't commit. He's never met his dad, so the only family he's got are their cellmates, and the only place he feels the least bit free is in the classroom, where his kind teacher...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trouble at Table 5 #6: Countdown to Disaster

Tom Watson

From the author of Stick Dog comes the sixth book in a highly illustrated early chapter book series about three best friends whose plans, missions, and schemes are sure to shake up their school.

Uh-oh! Molly's parents have a secret. They want to move to a new house - may

Read More check catalog