Back New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Juvenile Fiction and Nonfiction  
Kitchen Explorers!: 60 recipes, experiments, and games for young chefs

America's Test Kitchen Kids · America's Test Kitchen Kids
Pages: 134
Format: Paperback

What makes fizzy drinks... fizzy? Can you create beautiful art... using salt? Or prove the power of smell... with jelly beans? Plus easy, kid-tested and kid-approved recipes for smoothies, guacamole, energy bites, mug cakes, and more, Kitchen Explorers! brings the kitchen alive with fun science...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Isaiah Dunn is My Hero

Kelly J. Baptist · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father's journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson. Isaiah is now the big man of the house....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Letters from Cuba

Ruth Behar · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Pura Belpré Award Winner Ruth Behar's inspiring story of a young Jewish girl who escapes Poland to make a new life in Cuba, while she works to rescue the rest of her familyThe situation is getting dire for Jews in Poland on the eve of World War II. Esther's father has fled to Cuba,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fighting Words

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley · Dial Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A candid and fierce middle grade novel about sisterhood and sexual abuse, by Newbery Honor winner and #1 New York Times best seller Kimberly Brubaker Bradley"Fighting Words is raw, it is real, it is necessary, a must-read for children and their adults--a total triumph in all ways."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Is the Story of Dracula?

Michael Burgan · Penguin Workshop
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

From appearances in films and animated features to interpretations as a Muppet and breakfast cereal mascot, Dracula has been the inspiration for many other fictional vampires and is now an established figure in pop culture.Created by Bram Stoker in his 1897 Gothic horror novel, Count Dracula...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kodi

Jared Cullum · Top Shelf Productions
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

The gorgeous story of two friends separated by everything in the world -- except love. Readers and animal-lovers of every age will want to relive this journey over and over again.Katya and her Meema are spending another summer at their cottage in Alaska, when a chance accident leaves Katya...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witches: The Graphic Novel

Roald Dahl · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Roald Dahl's darkly funny masterpiece, The Witches, now available as a graphic novel from Eisner Award-winning artist Pénélope Bagieu!Witches are real, and they are very, very dangerous. They wear ordinary clothes and have ordinary jobs, living in ordinary towns all across the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Memory Superpowers!: An Adventurous Guide to Remembering What You Don't Want to Forget

Nelson Dellis · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A fun and highly practical guide to helping kids achieve remarkable memorization skills The Memory Thief wants to steal your memories! Luckily, Nelson, the Memory Champ, is on hand to guide you through the Forest of Forgettable Names and around the Great Word Pyramids. Nelson will help...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Artifact Hunters

Janet Fox · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Isaac Wolf can travel through time. But he's also in a race against it.With tensions in Prague rising at the height of World War II, Isaac Wolf is forced to leave home with nothing more than a small backpack and a pendant in the shape of an eternity knot. His parents believe the pendant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Lemoncello and the Titanium Ticket

Chris Grabenstein



Far away from his magical library, everyone's favorite game maker, Luigi Lemoncello, is building something new. Something SECRET. And he's about to let the world see it. He'll reveal that hidden deep within the Lemoncello-tastic new building is a single ticket. A titanium
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rise of ZomBert

Kara LaReau · Candlewick
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Could Bert really be a zombie cat? Two friends put their brains together to find out in a wry new mystery series.While helping her best friend, Danny, film his latest horror flick, Mellie discovers a scraggly cat behind a dumpster outside the YummCo Foods factory. Mellie names the stray...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beetle & the Hollowbones

Aliza Layne · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

An enchanting, riotous, and playfully illustrated debut graphic novel following a young goblin trying to save her best friend from the haunted mall - perfect for fans of Steven Universe and Adventure Time.In the eerie town of 'Allows, some people get to be magical sorceresses, while...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thirteens

Kate Alice Marshall · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Neil Gaiman's Coraline meets Stranger Things in a dark and twisted story about a sleepy town with a dark secret--and the three kids brave enough to uncover it.Every thirteen years in the town of Eden Eld, three thirteen-year-olds disappear.Eleanor has just moved to the quiet, prosperous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears

Tehlor Kay Mejia · Rick Riordan Presents
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Space-obsessed 12-year-old Paola Santiago and her two best friends, Emma and Dante, know the rule: Stay away from the river. It's all they've heard since a schoolmate of theirs drowned a year ago. Pao is embarrassed to admit that she has been told to stay away for even longer than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
History Smashers: The Mayflower

Kate Messner · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.In 1620, the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock and made friends with Wampanoag people who gave them corn. RIGHT? WRONG!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Draw Cute Beasts

Angela Nguyen · Sterling Children's Books
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

A sweet water dragon. A ghost whale. And an irresistible elephant with wings! This fourth book in the Draw Cute series is packed with fantastic creatures from a range of cultures, from giant puffballs to a flying lion. In the hands of author-teacher Angela Nguyen, all the instructions are easy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ikenga

Nnedi Okorafor · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Nnedi Okorafor's first novel for middle grade readers introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga.Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Guardians of Liberty: Freedom of the Press and the Nature of News

Linda Barrett Osborne · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

Guardians of Liberty explores the essential and basic American ideal of freedom of the press. Allowing the American press to publish - even if what they're reporting is contentious - without previous censure or interference by the federal government was so important to the Founding...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Max Einstein: Saves the Future

James Patterson

Max is back with a thrilling new adventure that involves time travel, creepy bad guys, killer drones, and a shocking mystery about her past that she will stop at nothing to solve!
Under constant danger of being kidnapped by the shadowy Corporation, Max is on the run from New Y
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker Book 1

J. C. Phillipps · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Introducing a brand-new middle-grade graphic novel series with attitude that's just right for fans of Babymouse and Real Friends, and for anyone who loves--or hates!--unicorns!Pacey's little sister, Mina, has always said her stuffed unicorn, Slasher, is real--but seriously? He's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stephen Biesty's Incredible Body Cross-Sections

Richard Platt

Did you know the ancient Egyptians used urine for eyewash? Or that, due to pressure, you are shorter during the day than you are at night? Full of captivating facts and funny quips, this is the book for those who want to learn about the human body in a brilliant and unique way.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Big One: The Cascadia Earthquakes and the Science of Saving Lives

Elizabeth Rusch

America's Pacific Northwest has relatively few earthquakes - only a handful each year that cause even moderately noticeable shaking. But a couple decades ago, scientists discovered a geological feature running along the coast that in other parts of the world regularly triggers mas
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bee Fearless: Dream Like a Kid

Mikaila Ulmer · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

When Mikaila Ulmer was four, she was stung by a bee--twice in one week. She was terrified of going outside, so her parents encouraged her to learn more about bees so she wouldn't be afraid. It worked. Mikaila didn't just learn what an important role bees play in our ecosystem, but she also...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fetch! A How to Speak Dog Training Guide

Gary Weitzman · National Geographic Children's Books
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

Whether teaching a puppy the basics--such as "sit," "stand," and "stay"-- correcting behavioral problems, or training your pooch to perform more advanced tricks, this comprehensive guide will take you through all the steps to have your canine answering your...
Read More check catalog