Back Biography and History | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biography and History  
The Answer Is . . .: Reflections on My Life

Alex Trebek · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Longtime Jeopardy! host and television icon Alex Trebek reflects on his life and career.Since debuting as the host of Jeopardy! in 1984, Alex Trebek has been something like a family member to millions of television viewers, bringing entertainment and education into their homes five nights...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lady Romeo: The Radical and Revolutionary Life of Charlotte Cushman, America's First Celebrity

Tana Wojczuk · Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Book of Ages and American Eve, this illuminating and enthralling biography of 19th-century queer actress Charlotte Cushman portrays her radical lifestyle that riveted New York City and made headlines across America. From the very beginning, she was a radical. At age nineteen,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rockaway: Surfing Headlong into a New Life

Diane Cardwell · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The inspirational story of one woman learning to surf and creating a new life in gritty, eccentric Rockaway BeachUnmoored by a failed marriage and disconnected from her high-octane life in the city, Diane Cardwell finds herself staring at a small group of surfers coasting through mellow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stupid Black Girl: Essays from an American African

Aisha Redux
Format: Book

A provocative collection of narrative essays with a unique point of view.

In this book a first generation American New Yorker uses her bold voice to share life experiences through the lens of race, culture, and spirituality. Exploring topics ranging from night...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Fairest: A Memoir

Meredith Talusan · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A singular, beautifully written coming-of-age memoir of a Filipino boy with albinism whose story travels from an immigrant childhood to Harvard to a gender transition and illuminates the illusions of race, disability, and genderFairest is a memoir about a precocious boy with albinism, a "sun...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love in the Blitz: The Long-Lost Letters of a Brilliant Young Woman to Her Beloved on the Front

Alexander, Eileen · HARPERCOLLINS
Format: Book

On July 17th 1939, Eileen Alexander, a bright young woman recently graduated from Girton College, Cambridge, begins a brilliant correspondence with fellow Cambridge student Gershon Ellenbogen that lasts five years and spans many hundreds of letters. 

But as Eileen and Gershon’s...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Oscars: From Mammy to Minny, What the Academy Awards Tell Us about African Americans

Frederick Gooding · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Second only to the Super Bowl in audience size and revenue, the Oscars are more than a mere ceremony; they are a phenomenon. Hosted by The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for over ninety years, the Oscars have long been considered the pinnacle of fantasy, beauty, romance and high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Black Cabinet: The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt

Jill Watts · Grove Press
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

In the early 20th century, most African Americans still lived in the South, disenfranchised, impoverished, terrorized by white violence, and denied the basic rights of citizenship. As the Democrats swept into the White House on a wave of black defectors from the Party of Lincoln, a group...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rural Diaries: What Moving to Mischief Farm Taught Me About What Really Matters in Life, Love, and Making Dandelion Wine

Hilarie Burton · HarperOne
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

The beloved actress and star of One Tree Hill, White Collar, and Lethal Weapon, Hilarie Burton, tells the inspiring story of leaving Hollywood for a radically different kind of life in upstate New York with her husband Jeffrey Dean Morgan - a celebration of community, family, and the value...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Weird Al: Seriously

Lily E. Hirsch · Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From his love of accordions and Hawaiian print shirts to his popular puns and trademark dance moves, "Weird Al" Yankovic has made a career out of making us laugh.Funny music is often dismissed as light and irrelevant, but Yankovic's fourteen successful studio albums prove...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Black Wave: Saudi Arabia, Iran, and the Forty-Year Rivalry That Unraveled Culture, Religion, and Collective Memory in the Middle East

Kim Ghattas · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Novelistic and character-driven, Black Wave is an unprecedented and ambitious examination of how the modern Middle East unraveled and why it started with the pivotal year of 1979. Kim Ghattas seamlessly weaves together history, geopolitics, and culture to deliver a gripping read of the largely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Apocalypse Factory: Plutonium and the Making of the Atomic Age

Steve Olson · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling narrative of scientific triumph, decades of secrecy, and the unimaginable destruction wrought by the creation of the atomic bomb.It began with plutonium, the first element ever manufactured in quantity by humans. Fearing that the Germans would be the first to weaponize the atom,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hell in the Heartland: Murder, Meth, and the Case of Two Missing Girls

Jax Miller · Berkley
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"There is, in the best of us, a search for the truth, to serve the living and dead alike...Jax Miller is one of those people and Hell in the Heartland is one of those books." - Robert Graysmith, New York Times bestselling author of ZodiacS-Town meets I'll Be Gone in the Dark...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Is Rape a Crime?: A Memoir, an Investigation, and a Manifesto

Michelle Bowdler · Flatiron Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

She Said meets Lucky in Michelle Bowdler's provocative debut, telling the story of her rape and recovery while interrogating why one of society's most serious crimes goes largely univestigated.The crime of rape sizzles like a lightning strike. It pounces, flattens, destroys. A person...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let's Never Talk About This Again: A Memoir

Sara Faith Alterman · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Samantha Irby meets Bettyville in this darkly funny and poignant memoir about love, loss, Alzheimer's, and reviving her father's pornographic writing career from Mortified writer and producer Sara Faith Alterman. 12-year-old Sara enjoyed an G-rated existence in suburban New England,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Memorial Drive: A Daughter's Memoir

Natasha Trethewey · Ecco
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A chillingly personal and exquisitely wrought memoir of a daughter reckoning with the brutal murder of her mother at the hands of her former stepfather, and the moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of a tragedyAt age nineteen, Natasha Trethewey had her world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To Start a War: How the Bush Administration Took America into Iraq

Robert Draper · Penguin Press
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Dead Certain comes the definitive, revelatory reckoning with arguably the most disastrous decision in the history of American foreign policy--the decision to invade Iraq.Even now, after more than fifteen years, it is hard to see the invasion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unspeakable Acts: True Tales of Crime, Murder, Deceit, and Obsession

Sarah Weinman · Ecco
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

A brilliant anthology of modern true-crime writing that illustrates the appeal of this powerful and popular genre, edited and curated by Sarah Weinman, the award-winning author of The Real LolitaThe appeal of true-crime stories has never been higher. With podcasts like My Favorite Murder...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Look So Much Better in Person: True Stories of Absurdity and Success

Al Roker · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Dick Van Dyke's Keep Moving and Dan Rather's Rather Outspoken, Today co-anchor Al Roker presents a humorous collection of essays based on lessons for living a happy life and achieving success through the power of saying "yes!"From America's favorite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chasing the Light: Writing, Directing, and Surviving Platoon, Midnight Express, Scarface, Salvador, and the Movie Game

Oliver Stone · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An intimate memoir by the controversial and outspoken, Oscar-winning director and screenwriter about his complicated New York childhood, volunteering for combat, and his struggles and triumphs making such films as Platoon, Midnight Express, and Scarface. Before the international success...
Read More check catalog