Back New Fiction | July Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
Strike Me Down

Mindy Mejia · Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the critically acclaimed author of the “nail-biting page-turner that grabs you early and never lets go” (The Real Book Spy) Leave No Trace comes a visceral thriller following an accountant’s complicated and potentially deadly search for missing money. Nora Trier catches thieves....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Saving Ruby King

West, Catherine Adel · PARK ROW BOOKS
Format: Book

When Ruby King’s mother is found murdered in their home in Chicago’s South Side, the police dismiss it as another act of violence in a black neighborhood. But for Ruby, it’s a devastating loss that leaves her on her own with her violent father. While she receives many...

Read More check catalog
 
 
This Is How I Lied: A Novel

Heather Gudenkauf · Park Row
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Everyone has a secret they'll do anything to hide ... Twenty-five years ago, the body of sixteen-year-old Eve Knox was found in the caves near her home in small-town Grotto, Iowa - discovered by her best friend, Maggie, and her sister, Nola. There were a handful of suspects, including...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bright Side of Going Dark

Kelly Harms · Lake Union Publishing
Pages: 348
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of The Overdue Life of Amy Byler comes a fresh, funny, and thoughtful story about going off the grid in order to truly live.As one of the most popular influencers on social media, Mia Bell has lived her life online for years. With her celebrity dog and gorgeous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love: A Novel

Roddy Doyle · Viking
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Two old friends reconnect in Dublin for a dramatic, revealing evening of drinking and storytelling in this winning new novel from the author of the Booker Prize winning Paddy Clarke Ha Ha HaDavy and Joe were drinking pals back in their Dublin youth. Davy rarely sees Joe for a pint anymore--maybe...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Gift for a Ghost

Borja Gonzalez · Abrams ComicArts
Pages: 128
Format: Hardcover

An untalented punk band and a parallel dimension - what could go wrong? In Borja González's stunning graphic novel, two parallel stories reflect and intertwine in a tale of youthful dreams and desires. In 1856, Teresa, a young aristocrat, is more interested in writing avantgarde...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Take a Hint, Dani Brown: A Novel

Talia Hibbert · Avon
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

One of Oprah Magazine's 21 Romance Novels That Are Set to Be the Best of 2020Talia Hibbert returns with another charming romantic comedy about a young woman who agrees to fake date her friend after a video of him "rescuing" her from their office building goes viral...Danika...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eliza Starts a Rumor

Jane L. Rosen · Berkley
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The author of Nine Women, One Dress delivers a charming, unforgettable novel about four women, one little lie, and the big repercussions that unite them all. It wasn't supposed to happen this way. When Eliza Hunt created The Hudson Valley Ladies' Bulletin Board fifteen years ago she was happily...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brave Girl, Quiet Girl: A Novel

Catherine Ryan Hyde · Lake Union Publishing
Pages: 300
Format: Hardcover

From New York Times bestselling author Catherine Ryan Hyde comes a gripping and emotional novel about friendship, motherhood, and the journey toward finding a place to call home.Brooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her mother, and holding tight to the one thing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Everyone Knows How Much I Love You: A Novel

Kyle McCarthy · Ballantine Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

In this propulsive debut novel about the dark side of female friendship, old habits give way to obsession and betrayal when a young woman reconnects with her estranged childhood best friend. At age thirty, Rose is fierce and smart, both self-aware and singularly blind to her power over...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tourist Attraction

Morgenthaler, Sarah · SOURCEBOOKS CASABLANCA
Format: Book

He had a strict "no tourists" policy...until she broke all of his rules.When Graham Barnett named his diner The Tourist Trap, he meant it as a joke. Now he's stuck slinging reindeer dogs to an endless parade of resort visitors who couldn't interest...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Blue Ticket: A Novel

Sophie Mackintosh · Doubleday
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

From the "ingenious and incendiary" (The New Yorker) author of the Booker Prize longlisted novel The Water Cure comes another mesmerizing, refracted vision of our society: In a world where women can't have it all, is choice the biggest burden of all?Calla knows how the lottery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Spinster Diaries: A Novel

Gina Fattore · Prospect Park Books
Pages: 216
Format: Paperback

Our heroine, a moderately successful TV writer in L.A., wants her life to be as sunny and perfect as a Hollywood rom-com: a cool job, a wacky best friend, and lots of age-appropriate hot guys just dying to date her. Instead, she's a self-described spinster who is swimming in anxiety...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The House on Fripp Island

Rebecca Kauffman · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A taut, page-turning novel of secrets and strife. When two families&;one rich, one not&;vacation together off the coast of South Carolina, little do they know that someone won't be returning home.Fripp Island, South Carolina is the perfect destination for the wealthy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Falling Woman

Farrell, Richard · ALGONQUIN BOOKS OF CHAPEL
Format: Book

First, it’s just a barely believable rumor: one person may have survived the midair explosion of a passenger jet on a cross-country course from Washington, D.C., to San Francisco. But soon she becomes a national media sensation when “the Falling Woman,” as the press...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl from Widow Hills

Megan Miranda · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last House Guest - a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick - comes a riveting new novel of psychological suspense about a young woman plagued by night terrors after a childhood trauma who wakes one evening to find a corpse at her feet.Everyone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hard Cash Valley

Brian Panowich · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Return to McFalls County and Bull Mountain in Hard Cash Valley, where Brian Panowich weaves another masterful tale of Southern Noir. Dane Kirby is a broken man and no stranger to tragedy. As a life-long resident and ex-arson investigator for McFalls County, Dane has lived his life in one of the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sex and Vanity: A Novel

Kevin Kwan · Doubleday
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The iconic author of the bestselling phenomenon Crazy Rich Asians returns with a glittering tale of love and longing as a young woman finds herself torn between two worlds--the WASP establishment of her father's family and George Zao, a man she is desperately trying to avoid falling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The First Actress: A Novel of Sarah Bernhardt

C. W. Gortner · Ballantine Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

The tumultuous life of the legendary French star Sarah Bernhardt--the world's first modern actress and international celebrity--dazzles in this stunning novel for readers of Love and Ruin and Mistress of the Ritz.From her beginnings as the daughter of a courtesan to her extraordinary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Demon

Kim Harrison · Ace
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling return to the #1 New York Times bestselling urban fantasy series, continuing Rachel Morgan's story.

RACHEL MORGAN IS BACK--AND THE HOLLOWS WILL NEVER BE THE SAME.

What happens after you've saved the world? Well, if you're Rachel Mariana Morgan, witch-born...
Read More check catalog
 
 
East Coast Girls

Kerry Kletter · MIRA
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Childhood friends Hannah, Maya, Blue and Renee share a bond that feels more like family. Growing up, they had difficult home lives, and the summers they spent together in Montauk were the happiest memories they ever made. Then, the summer after graduation, one terrible night changed everything.Twelve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Recipe for Persuasion: A Novel

Sonali Dev · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback

From the author of Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors comes another , clever, deeply layered, and heartwarming romantic comedy that follows in the Jane Austen tradition -- this time, with a twist on Persuasion.Chef Ashna Raje desperately needs a new strategy. How else can she save her beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Two Truths and a Lie: A Novel

Meg Mitchell Moore · William Morrow
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From the author of The Islanders comes a warm, witty and suspenseful novel filled with small-town secrets, summer romance, big time lies and spiked seltzer, in the vein of Liane Moriarty.Truth: Sherri Griffin and her daughter, Katie, have recently moved to the idyllic beach town of Newburyport,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Daughter of the Reich: A Novel

Louise Fein · William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 560
Format: Paperback

For fans of The Nightingale and All the Light We Cannot See, a spellbinding story of impossible love set against the backdrop of the Nazi regime.She must choose between loyalty to her country or a love that could be her destruction ... As the dutiful daughter of a high-ranking Nazi officer,...
Read More check catalog