Back New Fiction | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction  
The Vanishing Sky

L. Annette Binder · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Warlight and The Invisible Bridge, an intimate, harrowing story about a family of German citizens during World War II. In 1945, as the war in Germany nears its violent end, the Huber family is not yet free of its dangers or its insidious demands. Etta, a mother from a small,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Weekend: A Novel

Charlotte Wood · Riverhead Books
Format: Book

Three women in their seventies reunite for one last, life-changing weekend in the beach house of their late friend. Four older women have a lifelong friendship of the best kind: loving, practical, frank, and steadfast. But when Sylvie dies, the ground shifts dangerously for the remaining...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Blacktop Wasteland: A Novel

S. A. Cosby · Flatiron Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A husband, a father, a son, a business owner ... And the best getaway driver east of the Mississippi."Sensationally good -- new, fresh, real, authentic, twisty, with characters and dilemmas that will break your heart. More than recommended." -- Lee ChildBeauregard "Bug"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aria: A Novel

Nazanine Hozar · Pantheon
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

An extraordinary, cinematic saga of rags-to-riches-to-revolution--called a "Doctor Zhivago of Iran" by Margaret Atwood--that follows an orphan girl coming of age at a time of dramatic upheaval.It is the 1950s in a restless Iran, a country rich in oil but deeply divided by class...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Atomic Love

Jennie Fields · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"A novel of science, love, espionage, beautiful writing, and a heroine who carves a strong path in the world of men. As far as I'm concerned there is nothing left to want."--Ann Patchett, author The Dutch House"A highly-charged love story that reveals the dangerous energy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Florence Adler Swims Forever: A Novel

Rachel Beanland · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse. "Rachel Beanland...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inheritors

Asako Serizawa · Doubleday
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"This splendid story collection is a sword through the heart."--Ben FountainFrom the O. Henry Prize-winning author comes a heartbreakingly beautiful and brutal exploration of lives fragmented by the Pacific side of World War II.Spanning more than 150 years, and set in multiple...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nesting Dolls: A Novel

Alina Adams · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Spanning nearly a century, from 1930s Siberia to contemporary Brighton Beach, a page turning, epic family saga centering on three generations of women in one Russian Jewish family -- each striving to break free of fate and history, each yearning for love and personal fulfillment -- and how the consequences...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bonnie: A Novel

Christina Schwarz · Atria Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Drowning Ruth vividly evokes the perennially fascinating true crime love affair of Bonnie and Clyde in this suspenseful, gorgeously detailed fictional portrait of Bonnie Parker, one of America's most enigmatic women.Born in a small town in the desolate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Safe Place: A Novel

Anna Downes · Minotaur Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Superbly tense and oozing with atmosphere, Anna Downs's debut is the perfect summer suspense, with the modern gothic feel of Ruth Ware and the morally complex family dynamics of Lisa Jewell.Welcome to paradise...will you ever be able to leave?Emily is a mess.Emily Proudman just lost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fraternity: Stories

Benjamin Nugent · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Voiced by an off-kilter chorus of the young and desperate to belong, Benjamin Nugent's provocative collection pries the fraternity door off its hinges, daring us to peer inside with amusement, horror, and also love.In a Massachusetts college town stands a dilapidated colonial: Delta...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Self Care: A Novel

Leigh Stein · Penguin Books
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

The female cofounders of a wellness start-up struggle to find balance between being good people and doing good business, while trying to stay BFFs.Maren Gelb is on a company-imposed digital detox. She tweeted something terrible about the President's daughter, and as the COO of Richual,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
People of the Canyons: A Novel of North America's Forgotten Past

Kathleen O'Neal Gear · Forge Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In People of the Canyons, award-winning archaeologists and New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors Kathleen O'Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear bring us a tale of trapped magic, a tyrant who wants to wield its power...and a young girl who could be the key to save a people.In a magnificent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Margot Affair: A Novel

Sanae Lemoine · Hogarth
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The secret daughter of a French politician and a famous actress drops the startling revelation that will shatter her family in this beguiling debut novel of intrigue and betrayal. "There were so many of us, children of these double families who dreamed of the other side." Margot...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bear Necessity: A Novel

James Gould-Bourn · Scribner
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A heartwarming, poignant, and charming debut novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project, about a father and son overcoming their grief in surprisingly inventive ways.Danny's life is falling apart. He's become a single father to eleven-year-old Will - who hasn't spoken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy in the Field: A Novel

Margot Livesey · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The Flight of Gemma Hardy delivers another "luminous, unforgettable, and perfectly rendered" (Dennis Lehane) novel - a poignant and probing psychological drama that follows the lives of three siblings in the wake of a violent crime.One...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Butterfly Lampshade: A Novel

Aimee Bender · Doubleday
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The first novel in ten years from the author of the beloved New York Times bestseller The Particular Sadness Of Lemon Cake, a luminous, poignant tale of a mother, a daughter, mental illness, and the fluctuating barrier between the mind and the worldOn the night her single mother is taken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bronte's Mistress: A Novel

Finola Austin · Atria Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

This dazzling debut novel for fans of Mrs. Poe and Longbourn explores the scandalous historical love affair between Branwell Bronte and Lydia Robinson, giving voice to the woman who allegedly corrupted her son's innocent tutor and brought down the entire Bronte family.Yorkshire, 1843:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bright Side Sanctuary for Animals: A Novel

Becky Mandelbaum · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the winner of the 2016 Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction comes a tender and funny debut novel, set over one emotionally charged weekend at an animal sanctuary in western Kansas, where maternal, romantic, and community bonds are tested in the wake of an estranged daughter's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Comeback

Ella Berman · Berkley
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A deep dive into the psyche of a young actress raised in the spotlight under the influence of a charming, manipulative film director and the moment when she decides his time for winning is over. At the height of her career and on the eve of her first Golden Globe nomination, teen star Grace...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Bone a Prayer

Ashley Blooms · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

"This is the kind of book we need to set literary expectations for a new decade. It's so textured, so layered with love and so wonderfully terrifying, intimate and magical." -- Kiese Laymon, author of Heavy: An American MemoirMisty's holler looks like any of the thousands...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Death of Vivek Oji: A Novel

Akwaeke Emezi · Riverhead Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

What does it mean for a family to lose a child they never really knew?One afternoon, in a town in southeastern Nigeria, a mother opens her front door to discover her son's body, wrapped in colorful fabric, at her feet. What follows is the tumultuous, heart-wrenching story of one family's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hollow Ones

Guillermo del Toro · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px 'Times New Roman'} A horrific crime that defies ordinary explanation. A rookie FBI agent in dangerous, uncharted territory. An extraordinary hero for the ages. Odessa Hardwicke's life is derailed when she's forced to turn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lions of Fifth Avenue: A Novel

Fiona Davis · Dutton
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In nationally bestselling author Fiona Davis's latest historical novel, a series of book thefts roils the iconic New York Public Library, leaving two generations of strong-willed women to pick up the pieces. It's 1913, and on the surface, Laura Lyons couldn't ask for more out of life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Luster: A Novel

Raven Leilani · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

Sharp, comic, disruptive, tender, Raven Leilani's debut novel, Luster, sees a young black woman fall into art and someone else's open marriageEdie is stumbling her way through her twenties -- sharing a subpar apartment in Bushwick, clocking in and out of her admin job, making a series...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Make Russia Great Again: A Novel

Christopher Buckley · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Herb Nutterman never intended to become Donald Trump’s White House chief of staff. Herb served the Trump Organization for twenty-seven years, holding jobs in everything from a food and beverage manager at the Trump Magnifica to being the first general manager of the Trump Bloody Run Golf...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Migrations

Charlotte McConaghy · FLATIRON BOOKS
Format: Book

For fans of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds―and her own final chance for redemption.

Franny Stone has always been a wanderer....

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Orphan Collector

Ellen Marie Wiseman · Kensington
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

Ellen Marie Wiseman, acclaimed author of What She Left Behind and The Life She Was Given, weaves the stories of two very different women into a page-turning novel as suspenseful as it is poignant, set amid one of history's deadliest pandemics. In the fall of 1918, thirteen-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sweet Sorrow

David Nicholls · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling author of One Day comes a bittersweet and brilliantly funny coming-of-age tale about the heart-stopping thrill of first love—and how just one summer can forever change a life. Now: On the verge of marriage and a fresh start, thirty-eight-year-old Charlie Lewis finds...
Read More check catalog