Back New Fiction & Poetry | June Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Fiction & Poetry  
'Til I Want No More

Robin W. Pearson
Format: Hardcover

When the man she loved years ago returns to town, one young woman's complicated past rises again, threatening to expose her well-kept secrets.If Maxine could put her finger on the moment when her life went into a tailspin, she would point back twenty years to the day her daddy died....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bad Muslim Discount: A Novel

Syed M. Masood · Doubleday
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Following two families from Pakistan and Iraq in the 1990s to San Francisco in 2016, Bad Muslim Discount is a hilarious, timely, and provocative comic novel about being Muslim immigrants in modern America. For fans of Hanif Kureshi, Mira Jacob, and Mohammed Hanif.It is 1995, and Anvar Faris...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Girls: A Novel

Emily Layden
Format: Hardcover

"--Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones and the SixA keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young women as they navigate their ambitions and fears at a prestigious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anna Incognito

Laura Preble · Mascot Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Lots of narrative pull...wonderfully complicated. - Jincy Willett, author of The Writing Class, and anthologized by David Sedaris in Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules. Anna Colin Beck knows all too well what can happen when things go wrong really wrong. So, she's spent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fake Accounts

Lauren Oyler
Format: Hardcover

On the eve of Donald Trump's inauguration, a young woman snoops through her boyfriend's phone and makes a startling discovery: he's an anonymous internet conspiracy theorist, and a popular one at that. Already fluent in internet fakery, irony, and outrage, she's not exactly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Band of Sisters: A Novel

Lauren Willig
Format: Hardcover

A group of young women from Smith College risk their lives in France at the height of World War I in this sweeping novel based on a true story - a skillful blend of Call the Midwife and The Alice Network - from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Willig.A scholarship girl from Brooklyn,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bride of the Sea

Eman Quotah
Format: Paperback

Spanning four decades and two continents, Bride of the Sea illuminates a family fraught with secrets, rivalries, and estrangements against the backdrop of the Gulf War, 9/11, and a rapidly changing world.During a snowy Cleveland February, newlyweds Muneer and Saeedah are starting their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
By the Neck

William W. Johnstone
Format: Mass Market Paperback

There's gold in the mountains of Idaho Territory. And the town of Boar Gulch is a golden opportunity for a tough guy like Finnegan. But when he arrives, the local saloon owner is gunned down in cold blood--and Finnegan makes a cold calculation of his own. Instead of working in a mine,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dark Horses: A Novel

Susan Mihalic · Gallery/Scout Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Fifteen-year-old equestrian prodigy Roan Montgomery has only ever known two worlds: inside the riding arena, and outside of it. Both, for as long as she can remember, have been ruled by her father, who demands strict obedience in all areas of her life. The warped power dynamic of coach...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Divines: A Novel

Ellie Eaton
Format: Hardcover

With the emotional power of Normal People and the reflective haze of The Girls, a compulsively readable literary debut set in a secluded boarding school, exploring the intoxicating, destructive relationships between teenage girls. "The Divines is a cool, chilling and elegant novel."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Father's Sacrifice

Ben Burgess Jr. · Urban Renaissance
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

When his affair with Vickie, an unhappily married homemaker, results in an accidental pregnancy. Vickie abandons Nick, leaving him to raise their biracial daughter, Lynn, alone. Overwhelmed by the difficulties of single fatherhood and seeking comfort and help for himself in that stressful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
God I Feel Modern Tonight: Poems from a Gal About Town

Catherine Cohen · Knopf
Format: Hardcover

Catherine Cohen, the one-woman stand-up chanteuse who has electrified the downtown NYC comedy scene in her white go-go boots, has been posting poignant, unfiltered poems on social media since before Instagram was a thing. A self-proclaimed self-obsessed millennial on the prowl with her beaded...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Final Revival of Opal & Nev

Dawnie Walton · 37 Ink
Format: Hardcover

Opal is a fiercely independent young woman pushing against the grain in her style and attitude, Afro-punk before that term existed. Coming of age in Detroit, she can't imagine settling for a 9-to-5 job - despite her unusual looks, Opal believes she can be a star. So when the aspiring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Good Eggs: A Novel

Rebecca Hardiman · Atria Books
Format: Hardcover

When Kevin Gogarty's irrepressible eighty-three-year-old mother, Millie, is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits' end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hurricane Season

Fernanda Melchor · New Directions
Format: Paperback

The English-language debut of one of the most thrilling and accomplished young Mexican writers

Longlisted for the National Book Award
Shortlisted for the Booker Prize
Winner of the Internationaler Literaturpreis

New...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Hades, Argentina: A Novel

Daniel Loedel · Riverhead Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In 1976, Tomás Orilla is a medical student in Buenos Aires, where he has moved in hopes of reuniting with Isabel, a childhood crush. But the reckless passion that has long drawn him is leading Isabel ever deeper into the ranks of the insurgency fighting an increasingly oppressive regime....
Read More check catalog
 
 
How Beautiful We Were: A Novel

Imbolo Mbue · Random House
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From the celebrated author of the New York Times bestseller Behold the Dreamers comes a sweeping, wrenching novel about the collision of a small African village and a powerful American oil company."We should have known the end was near." So begins Imbolo Mbue's exquisite and devastating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I am The Rage

Martina McGowan Dr. · Sourcebooks
Format: Paperback

I am The Rage is a poetry collection that explores racial injustice from the raw, unfiltered viewpoint of a Black woman in America. Dr. Martina McGowan is a retired MD, a mother, grandmother, and a poet. Her poetry provides insights that no think piece on racism can; putting readers in the uncomfortable...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Land of Big Numbers: Stories

Te-Ping Chen
Format: Paperback

Gripping and compassionate, Land of Big Numbers depicts the diverse and legion Chinese people, their history, their government, and how all of that has tumbled - messily, violently, but still beautifully - into the present. Cutting between clear-eyed realism and tongue-in-cheek magical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let's Get Back to the Party

Zak Salih
Format: Hardcover

It's just weeks after the historic Supreme Court marriage equality ruling, and all Sebastian Mote wants is to settle down. A high school art history teacher, newly single and desperately lonely, he envies his queer students their freedom to live openly the youth he lost to fear and shame....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Apothecary: A Novel

Sarah Penner · Park Row
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In this addictive and spectacularly imagined debut, a female apothecary secretly dispenses poisons to liberate women from the men who have wronged them - setting three lives across centuries on a dangerous collision courseRule #1: The poison must never be used to harm another woman.Rule...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Man at Arms: A Novel

Steven Pressfield
Format: Hardcover

From an acclaimed master of historical fiction comes an epic saga about a reluctant hero, the Roman Empire, and the rise of a new power. Jerusalem and the Sinai desert, AD 55. In the turbulent aftermath of the crucifixion of Jesus, agents of the Roman Empire receive information about a pilgrim...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Milk Blood Heat

Dantiel W. Moniz
Format: Hardcover

A livewire debut from Dantiel W. Moniz, one of the most exciting discoveries in today's literary landscape, Milk Blood Heat depicts the sultry lives of Floridians in intergenerational tales that contemplate human connection, race, womanhood, inheritance, and the elemental darkness in us all....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Moonlight School

Suzanne Woods Fisher
Format: Book

Haunted by personal tragedy, Lucy Wilson arrives in Rowan County, Kentucky, in the spring of 1911 to assist her cousin, Cora Wilson Stewart, superintendent of schools. A fish out of water, Lucy is appalled by the primitive conditions and intellectual poverty she encounters.

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Brilliant Life

Ae-ran Kim
Format: Hardcover

-- Ae-ran Kim's My Brilliant Life explores family bonds and out-of-the-ordinary friendships, interweaving the past and present of a tight-knit family, finding joy and happiness in even the most difficult times.Areum lives life to its fullest, vicariously through the stories of his parents,...
Read More check catalog