Back Weekly Staff Picks | September Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Weekly Staff Picks  
Empire of Wild: A Novel

Cherie Dimaline · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"Deftly written, gripping and informative. Empire of Wild is a rip-roaring read!" - Margaret Atwood, From Instagram"Empire of Wild is doing everything I love in a contemporary novel and more. It is tough, funny, beautiful, honest and propulsive - all the while telling a story...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Geometry of Holding Hands: An Isabel Dalhousie Novel

Alexander McCall Smith · Pantheon
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

One of the author's most beloved characters is back--and once again she will have to call upon her powers of deduction and her unflappable moral code to unravel a new philosophical mystery.In Edinburgh, rumors and gossip abound. But Isabel well knows that such things can't be taken...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love and Theft: A Novel

Stan Parish · Doubleday
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

A high-octane novel featuring a charismatic thief forced to pull off one last spectacular caper in order to save his family. For fans of Ruth Ware and Robert Crais. When Alex and Diane meet, there are instant, undeniable sparks. Both are single parents living in wealthy suburbia: independent,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When She Was Good

Michael Robotham · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the bestselling author of The Secrets She Keeps and Good Girl, Bad Girl comes a new thriller featuring the brilliant forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven as he becomes embroiled in an explosive murder case with disturbing origins.Criminal psychologist Cyrus Haven and Evie Cormac return...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Star Is Bored: A Novel

Byron Lane · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"A Star is Bored is an absolute knockout. Riotously funny and wickedly tender. The pitch-perfect absurdity and sharp heartbreak of this story come to life so vividly that the last page left me aching. Completely outrageous and positively lovely." -- Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Grove of the Caesars: A Flavia Albia Novel

Lindsey Davis · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the sacred grove of Julius Caesar, something deadly stirs in the undergrowth -- a serial killer, who haunted the gardens for years, has claimed another victim -- in Lindsey Davis's next historical mystery, The Grove of the Caesars. At the feet of her adoptive father, renowned private...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crossings

Alex Landragin · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Alex Landragin's Crossings is an unforgettable and explosive genre-bending debut -- a novel in three parts, designed to be read in two different directions, spanning a hundred and fifty years and seven lifetimes.On the brink of the Nazi occupation of Paris, a German-Jewish bookbinder...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kitchen Creativity: Unlocking Culinary Genius—with Wisdom, Inspiration, and Ideas from the World's Most Creative Chefs

Karen Page · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

"An incredible reference for home cooks, young chefs, and seasoned pros alike. Kitchen Creativity should be in everyone's library." - Eric Ripert, chef and co-owner of Le Bernardin and New York Times bestselling author of 32 YolksUnlock your creative potential with the world's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paris Is Always a Good Idea

Jenn McKinlay · Berkley
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

A thirty-year-old woman retraces her gap year through Ireland, France, and Italy to find love--and herself--in this hilarious and heartfelt novel from New York Times bestselling author Jenn McKinlay.It's been seven years since Chelsea Martin embarked on her yearlong post-college European...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Year of the Witching

Alexis Henderson · Ace
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A young woman living in a rigid, puritanical society discovers dark powers within herself in this stunning, feminist fantasy debut. In the lands of Bethel, where the Prophet's word is law, Immanuelle Moore's very existence is blasphemy. Her mother's union with an outsider...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deadly Touch

Heather Graham · MIRA
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Deadly Touch by Heather Graham will be available Jul 21, 2020. Preorder your copy today!
Read More check catalog
 
 
South of the Buttonwood Tree

Heather Webber · Forge Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

USA Today bestselling author Heather Webber's South of the Buttonwood Tree is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm.Blue Bishop has a knack for finding lost things. While growing up in charming small-town Buttonwood, Alabama, she's...
Read More check catalog