Back Library Staff Picks | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Library Staff Picks  
Hotel Du Lac

Anita Brookner
Format: Book

SWITZERLAND: Edith Hope is 40, broken-hearted, and spending an uneventful holiday alone in a Swiss hotel resort, when she begins to get involved in the sordid lives of her fellow guests. Hotel du Lac was the winner of the Booker Prize in 1984.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Faith

Nickolas Butler · Ecco
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this moving new novel from celebrated author Nickolas Butler, a Wisconsin family grapples with the power and limitations of faith when one of their own falls under the influence of a radical church Lyle Hovde is at the onset of his golden years, living a mostly content life in rural...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Things About Elsie: A Novel

Joanna Cannon · Scribner
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of the "remarkable ... masterfully constructed, pitch-perfect" (BOOKLIST , starred review) debut The Trouble with Goats and Sheep delivers a suspenseful and emotionally satisfying novel about a lifelong friendship, a devastating secret, and the small...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Great Alone

NOT AVAILABLE. · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 440
Format: Hardcover

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller! "A TOUR DE FORCE." -- Kirkus (starred review) Alaska, 1974.Unpredictable. Unforgiving. Untamed.For a family in crisis, the ultimate test of survival.Ernt Allbright, a former POW, comes home from the Vietnam war a changed and volatile...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The River: A novel

Peter Heller · Alfred A. Knopf
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling author of The Dog Stars, this is a masterful tale of wilderness survival in the vein of Into the Wild and The Call of the Wild. It is the story of two college friends on a wilderness canoe trip--a gripping tale of a friendship tested by fire, whitewater, starvation,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book of Unknown Americans: A novel

Cristina Henríquez · Random House Inc
Pages: 285
Format: Book

"A triumph of storytelling. Henríquez pulls us into the lives of her characters with such mastery that we hang on to them just as fiercely as they hang on to one another and their dreams. This passionate, powerful novel will stay with you long after you've turned the final...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rabbits for Food

Binnie Kirshenbaum · Soho Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Master of razor-edged literary humor Binnie Kirshenbaum returns with her first novel in a decade, a devastating, laugh-out-loud funny story of a writer's slide into depression and institutionalization. It's New Year's Eve, the holiday of forced fellowship, mandatory fun, and paper hats....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ditch

Herman Koch · Hogarth
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The bracing and inventive new novel of suspicions and secrecy from Herman Koch, the New York Times bestselling author of The DinnerWhen Robert Walter, popular mayor of Amsterdam, sees his wife toss her head back with laughter while chatting to one of his aldermen at a New Year's reception,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Other Americans: A Novel

Laila Lalami · Pantheon
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the Pulitzer Prize finalist, author of The Moor's Account--a timely and powerful new novel about the suspicious death of a Moroccan immigrant that is at once a family saga, a murder mystery, and a love story, all of it informed by the treacherous fault lines of American culture.Late...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wilde Lake: A Novel

Laura Lippman · HarperAudio
Format: Audiobook

Bestselling author of the acclaimed standalones 'After I'm Gone'; 'I'd Know You Anywhere'; and 'What the Dead Know'; challenges our notions of memory, loyalty, responsibility, and justice in this evocative and psychologically complex story about a long ago death...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hour of the Star

Clarice Lispector · New Directions; Second Edition edition
Format: Paperback

A new edition of Clarice Lispector’s final masterpiece, now with a vivid introduction by Colm Tóibín. Narrated by the cosmopolitan Rodrigo S.M., this brief, strange, and haunting tale is the story of Macabéa, one of life's unfortunates. Living in the slums of Rio and eking...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lost Children Archive: A novel

Valeria Luiselli · Knopf
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

From the two-time NBCC Finalist, a fiercely imaginative novel about a family's summer road trip across America--a journey that, with breathtaking imagery, spare lyricism, and profound humanity, probes the nature of justice and equality in America today.A mother and father set out with their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Thorn Birds: A Novel

Colleen McCullough · Avon; Reissue edition
Format: Book

One of the most beloved novels of all time, The Thorn Birds, Colleen McCulloughs sweeping family saga of dreams, titanic struggles, dark passions, and forbidden love in the Australian Outback, returns to enthrall a new generation.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nickel Boys

Colson Whitehead · Doubleday
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books: Christopher Columbus, His Son, and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library

Edward Wilson-Lee · Scribner
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Stephen Greenblatt's The Swerve and Dava Sobel's Galileo's Daughter, a vividly rendered account of the forgotten quest by Christopher Columbus's son to create the greatest library in the world - "a perfectly pitched poetic drama" (Financial Times) and an amazing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sissy: A Coming-of-Gender Story

Jacob Tobia · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A heart-wrenching, eye-opening, and giggle-inducing memoir about what it's like to grow up not sure if you're (a) a boy, (b) a girl, (c) something in between, or (d) all of the above."When the political reality facing this country seems dark, we need shinier, sparklier...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper

Hallie Rubenhold · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Five devastating human stories and a dark and moving portrait of Victorian London - the untold lives of the women killed by Jack the Ripper. Polly, Annie, Elizabeth, Catherine and Mary-Jane are famous for the same thing, though they never met. They came from Fleet Street, Knightsbridge,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
84, Charing Cross Road

Helene Hanff · Penguin Books; Reissue edition
Format: Print book

A dramatization of the American Helene Hanff's 20-year correspondence with a London antiquarian bookshop. Also on this cassette is a witty duologue between a elderly general and his wife, played by John Mills and Peggy Ashcroft. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable...
Read More check catalog