Back Entertainment | November Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Entertainment  
American Dreamer: My Life in Fashion & Business

Tommy Hilfiger · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

In this tale of grit and glamour, setbacks and comebacks, business and pop culture icon Tommy Hilfiger shares his extraordinary life story for the first time.

Few designers have stayed on top of changing trends the way Tommy Hilfiger has. Fewer still have left such an indelible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm Not Really Here

Tim Allen · Hyperion Books; 1st edition
Pages: 255
Format: Hardcover

The popular actor and comedian shares his observations on why things are the way they are while sharing his offbeat opinions about the meaning of life and his personal role in it. Reprint." --This text refers to the Mass Market Paperback edition.
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House: Humor, Blunders, and Other Oddities from the Presidential Campaign Trail

Charles Osgood · Hyperion
Pages: 239
Format: Print book

Charles Osgood, one of America's favorite news personalities, offers a hilarious compendium of anecdotes from the last seventy years of presidential campaigns. With anecdotes from Harry Truman to JFK to George W. Bush, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House captures the wit and humor...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Robin Williams

Andy Dougan · Thunder's Mouth Press; First Edition edition
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

Named the Funniest Person Alive by "Entertainment Weekly" in 1997, Robin Williams is one of the most popular screen actors today. This biography provides a detailed look at the comedian's life and career, from his poor-little-rich-kid childhood to his first big break to his battle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mad as Hell: The Making of Network and the Fateful Vision of the Angriest Man in Movies

Dave Itzkoff · Holt & Company, Henry
Pages: 287
Format: Hardcover

The behind-the-scenes story of the making of the iconic movie Network, which transformed the way we think about television and the way television thinks about us"I'm mad as hell, and I'm not going to take this anymore!"Those words, spoken by an unhinged anchorman named...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Sinatra Files: The Secret FBI Dossier

Tom Kuntz · Three Rivers Press; 1 edition
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

An American Icon Under Government SurveillanceWhen Frank Sinatra died in 1998, he was one of the most chronicled celebrities ever, but the most unusual record of his life came to light only posthumously: a 1,275-page dossier recording decades of FBI surveillance stemming from J. Edgar Hoover's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beach Town

Mary Kay Andrews · St. Martin's Press; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

Greer Hennessy needs palm trees. As a movie location scout, picture-perfect is the name of the game. But her last project literally went up in flames, and her career is on the verge of flaming out. Greer has been given one more chance, if she can find the perfect undiscovered beach hideaway...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Farber on Film: The Complete Film Writings of Manny Farber

Manny Farber · Library of America; First edition
Format: Book

Manny Farber (1917?2008) was a unique figure among American movie critics. Champion of what he called ?termite art? (focused, often eccentric virtuosity as opposed to ?white elephant? monumentality), master of a one-of-a- kind prose style whose jazz-like phrasing and incandescent twists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Look So Much Better in Person: True Stories of Absurdity and Success

Al Roker · Hachette Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Dick Van Dyke's Keep Moving and Dan Rather's Rather Outspoken, Today co-anchor Al Roker presents a humorous collection of essays based on lessons for living a happy life and achieving success through the power of saying "yes!"From America's favorite...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red Chameleon: A Novel

Erica Wright · Pegasus Books
Pages: 241
Format: Hardcover

Kathleen Stone's ability to blend in makes her an ace private investigator, but when a cheating spouse she is tailing ends up dead she fears that someone from her past has seen through her disguises. As a private investigator, Kathleen Stone relies on her ability to blend into the background....
Read More check catalog