Back Children's Picture books | December Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Children's Picture books  
Hello, Ninja

N. D. Wilson · HarperCollins
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Soon to be a Netflix animated TV series!

Are you longing for adventure? Mischief? What about sandwiches?

Tag along with one sneaky ninja who is happy to share his busy day (but not his lunch) with curious kids everywhere in this rhyming picture book great...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Sister Day!

Lisa Mantchev · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"Sweet, upbeat, and refreshing." - Kirkus Reviews

From the author of Strictly No Elephants comes an adorable picture book that tells the timeless tale of a little girl who's on a mission to convince her big sister to play with her!

For Lizzie, the perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jumping Mouse: A Native American Legend of Friendship and Sacrifice

Misty Schroe · Page Street Kids
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Jumping Mouse is just like another other mouse, except she has a dream -- a dream to reach the fabled High Places. But one small mouse can't make the long journey alone. At the start of her journey, Jumping Mouse is gifted new long legs from wise Grandfather Frog. Filled with gratitude,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Boy Like You

Frank Murphy · Sleeping Bear Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

There's more to being a boy than sports, feats of daring, and keeping a stiff upper lip. A Boy Like You encourages every boy to embrace all the things that make him unique, to be brave and ask for help, to tell his own story and listen to the stories of those around him. In an age when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Name Is Wakawakaloch!

Chana Stiefel · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In this lighthearted picture book, the intrepid, determined, and savvy Wakawakaloch learns to embrace what makes her special while lifting up her neanderthal community. Perfect for fans of Vera Brosgol and Emily Hughes.

No one can pronounce Wakawakaloch's name. Why couldn't she be called...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Fox Found a Box

Ged Adamson · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

When his radio breaks, a little fox finds that the forest is filled with its own rhythm and music--drip drops and chirp chirps--in this picture book that gently introduces the concept of mindfulness.

A little fox is digging for food when--OUCH! What is that?--the fox finds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Book of Mine

Sarah Stewart · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A dazzling depiction of the connection between diverse readers of all ages and their books, from beloved author-illustrator team Sarah Stewart and David Small.
This Book of Mine is a celebration of the power of reading, of the ways in which books launch our adventures, give...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Glacier on the Move

Elizabeth Rusch · West Margin Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Meet Flo, a glacier, as she shows you what the life of a glacier is like in this picture book filled with fun facts, from what glaciers are and how they're formed to what creatures live there, and more.



Glaciers exist on every continent on earth, growing, spreading, and shrinking...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Proudest Blue: A Story of Hijab and Family

Ibtihaj Muhammad · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A powerful, vibrantly illustrated story about the first day of school--and two sisters on one's first day of hijab--by Olympic medalist and social justice activist Ibtihaj Muhammad.
With her new backpack and light-up shoes, Faizah knows the first day of school is going to be special....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Scarecrow

Beth Ferry · HarperCollins
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

All the animals know not to mess with old Scarecrow. But when a small, scared crow falls from midair, Scarecrow does the strangest thing. . . .

Bestselling author Beth Ferry and the widely acclaimed Fan Brothers present this tender and affectionate tale that reminds us of the comforting...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Just Because

Mac Barnett · Candlewick
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Curious minds are rewarded with curious answers in a fantastical bedtime book by Mac Barnett and Isabelle Arsenault.

Why is the ocean blue? What is the rain? What happened to the dinosaurs? It might be time for bed, but one child is too full of questions about the world to go to sleep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Squeak!

Laura McGee Kvasnosky · Philomel Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Who knew that one little noise could set off a whole cacophony? In this chain-reaction story, the animal world wakes up with a squeak!

Early one morning, a gentle breeze tickles the ear of a small mouse, and he wakes up with a squeak! That squeak wakes up the some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Stole the Hazelnuts?

Marcus Pfister · NorthSouth Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A new book from the author of the bestselling Rainbow Fish series!

The peace and quiet of the forest are shattered by a scream. Someone has stolen the squirrel's three hazelnuts! Who could have committed such a terrible crime? The squirrel begins his investigation, and no one is above...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unicorns 101

Cale Atkinson · Doubleday Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A laugh-out-loud picture book that finally sets the record straight about unicorns!

Unicorns! You love them, but how much do you really know about them? Join Professors Glitter Pants, Sprinkle Steed, Star Hoof, and Sugar Beard, plus their trusty lab assistant, Pete, as they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thunder Trucks

Cheryl Klein · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Was that a flash of lightning? A rumble of thunder?
Better get ready--there's a new crew in town!
As Bulldozer piles up clouds and Tanker Truck hauls the rain, the whole Thunder Truck gang works together to build a tremendous storm.
Brimming with energy and fun, this cheerful bedtime...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pepe and the Parade: A Celebration of Hispanic Heritage

Tracey Kyle · little bee books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Join Pepe as he celebrates his Mexican-American heritage by participating in a Hispanic Day parade. Children will delight in seeing many Hispanic cultures proudly honored in this joyous picture book.

Pepe wakes up energized to attend his first Hispanic Day parade. With new food to taste,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Wet My Pants?

Bob Shea · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In this hilarious tale of blame, compassion, and forgiveness, a very embarrassed bear is reminded that accidents can happen--but with the support of good friends, life goes on.

Reuben the bear's got donuts for everyone in his scout troop, but his friends are all staring at something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fall in the Country

Sue Tarsky · Albert Whitman & Company
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Join the fun of finding and counting all the animals, flowers, and insects, as more and more appear on a lively walk through the country in the fall. Packed with repetition that young children love and that also helps them learn, this is an entertaining introduction to colors, numbers,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unicorn Club

Suzy Senior · Tiger Tales
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Amy has started a unicorn fan club, and she canÂ’t wait for everyone to come! There will be cupcakes, crafts, and prizes. But not one of her friends shows up. Disappointed, Amy heads over to her tree house, where she sees a tail swishing over the railing and hears hooves clattering on the floor....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Royal Ride: Catherine the Great's Great Invention

Kristen Fulton · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Join Catherine the Great on a fun-filled ride as she schemes to invent the roller coaster in this inventive, STEM-based nonfiction picture book!

Empress Catherine the Great, Queen of Russia loved her country, especially the snowy winters. Giant ice slides meant daring drops and thrilling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Like a Girl

Lori Degman · Sterling Children's Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Create, prevail, change the world . . . like a GIRL! This celebration of international girl power honors a multitude of women who made a difference.

"As an introduction to women's power and possibilities, this choice rises above the rest." - Kirkus

Once...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Invention Hunters Discover How Machines Work

Korwin Briggs · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Learn about machines the fun way! The Magic School Bus meets The Way Things Work in this kid-friendly guide to understanding the basics of simple machines, perfect for budding engineers.

The Invention Hunters travel the globe in their flying museum collecting the world's greatest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stormy: A Story About Finding a Forever Home

Guojing · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the creator of the New York Times best-illustrated children's book award winner The Only Child, comes a gorgeous and moving wordless picture book that's perfect for dog lovers.

In this heartwarming, wordless picture book that's perfect for dog lovers, a woman visits...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hundred-Year Barn

Patricia MacLachlan · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Newbery Medal-winning author Patricia MacLachlan's poignant text and award-winning artist Kenard Pak's gentle and rustic illustrations paint the picture of a beautiful red barn and the people who call it home.

One hundred years ago, a little boy watched his family and community...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Listen

Holly McGhee · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A lyrical, inspiring picture book that promotes empathy from the creators of the New York Times bestseller Come With Me.

Listen
with your heart.
It is your ears
your eyes
your nose
your mouth
your hands--

Author Holly M. McGhee and illustrator...

Read More check catalog