Back Staff Picks | December Newsletter

Simple News Pro
  Staff Picks for 2018  
 
   
 
An Absolutely Remarkable Thing: A Novel

HANK GREEN · Dutton
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In his much-anticipated debut novel, Hank Green - cocreator of Crash Course, Vlogbrothers, and SciShow - spins a sweeping, cinematic tale about a young woman who becomes an overnight celebrity before realizing she's part of something bigger, and stranger, than anyone could have possibly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
An Ocean of Minutes: A Novel

Thea Lim · Touchstone
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven, a sweeping literary love story about two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart.America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Chariot on the Mountain

JACK FORD · Kensington
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Based on little-known true events, this astonishing account from Emmy and Peabody Award-winning journalist Jack Ford vividly recreates a treacherous journey toward freedom, a time when the traditions of the Old South still thrived - and is a testament to determination, friendship, and courage...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Circe

Madeline Miller · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess's story," this #1 New York Times bestseller "manages to be both epic and intimate in its scope, recasting the most infamous female figure from the Odyssey as a hero in her own right" (Alexandra Alter, The New York Times)...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Hate U Give Movie Tie-in Edition

Angie Thomas · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

The acclaimed, award-winning novel is now a major motion picture starring Amandla Stenberg, Russell Hornsby, Regina Hall, Anthony Mackie, Issa Rae, and Common. This hardcover edition features the movie poster art, full-color photos, and Angie Thomas in conversation with Amandla Stenberg...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
How to Walk Away: A Novel

Katherine Center · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the author of Happiness for Beginners comes an unforgettable love story about finding joy even in the darkest of circumstances. Margaret Jacobsen has a bright future ahead of her: a fiancé she adores, her dream job, and the promise of a picture-perfect life just around the corner....
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 346
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"A captivating family saga." - The New York Times Book Review"You won't be able to put it down." - The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick) "This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt." - People Magazine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Lake Silence

ANNE BISHOP · Ace
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In this thrilling and suspenseful fantasy, set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series, Vicki DeVine and her lodger, the shapeshifter Aggie Crowe, stumble onto a dead body . . . and find themselves enmeshed in danger and dark secrets.Human laws do not apply in the territory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Leah on the Offbeat

BECKY ALBERTALLI · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 15
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestseller!In this sequel to the acclaimed Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda - now a major motion picture, Love, Simon - we follow Simon's BFF Leah as she grapples with changing friendships, first love, and senior year angst.When it comes to drumming, Leah Burke is usually...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Lethal White

JOHN SMITH · Mulholland Books
Pages: 656
Format: Hardcover

Lethal White is the fourth book in the Cormoran Strike series from the international bestselling author Robert Galbraith. "I seen a kid killed ... He strangled it, up by the horse." When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
The Library Book

SUSAN ORLEAN · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Susan Orlean, hailed as a "national treasure" by The Washington Post and the acclaimed bestselling author of Rin Tin Tin and The Orchid Thief, reopens the unsolved mystery of the most catastrophic library fire in American history, and delivers a dazzling love letter to a beloved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Next Year in Havana

Chanel Cleeton · Berkley
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback

After the death of her beloved grandmother, a Cuban-American woman travels to Havana, where she discovers the roots of her identity--and unearths a family secret hidden since the revolution...Havana, 1958. The daughter of a sugar baron, nineteen-year-old Elisa Perez is part of Cuba's high...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
Stay with Me: A novel

AYOBAMI ADEBAYO · Knopf
Pages: 253
Format: Hardcover

"A stunning debut novel." - Michiko Kakutani, The New York TimesThis celebrated, unforgettable first novel ("A bright, big-hearted demonstration of female spirit." -The Guardian) , shortlisted for the prestigious Bailey's Prize and set in Nigeria, gives voice to both...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
   
 
There There: A novel

Tommy Orange · Knopf
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Not since Sherman Alexie's The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven and Louise Erdrich's Love Medicine has such a powerful and urgent Native American voice exploded onto the landscape of contemporary fiction. Tommy Orange's There There introduces a brilliant new author at the start...
Read More check catalog