Back Science | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Science  
Survival of the Friendliest: Understanding Our Origins and Rediscovering Our Common Humanity

Brian Hare · Random House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A powerful new theory of human nature suggests that our unique friendliness is the secret to our success as a species. For most of the approximately 300,000 years that Homo sapiens have existed, we have shared the planet with at least four other types of humans. All of these were smart,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Desert Notebooks: A Road Map for the End of Time

Ben Ehrenreich · Counterpoint
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Robert Macfarlane or Elizabeth Rush, National Magazine Award winner and The Nation columnist Ben Ehrenreich layers climate science, mythologies, nature writing, and personal experiences into a stunning reckoning of our current moment and our all-too-human urge to grapple with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Peterson Field Guide to Birds of North America, Second Edition

Roger Tory Peterson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 520
Format: Flexibound

A new edition of the best-selling field guide with 25 all-new plates covering the birds of Hawaii.For decades, the Peterson Field Guide to Birds has been a popular and trusted guide for birders of all levels, thanks to its famous system of identification and unparalleled illustrations....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Apocalypse Never: Why Environmental Alarmism Hurts Us All

Michael Shellenberger · Harper
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Climate change is real but it's not the end of the world. It is not even our most serious environmental problem. Michael Shellenberger has been fighting for a greener planet for decades. He helped save the world's last unprotected redwoods. He co-created the predecessor to today's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Future Earth: A Radical Vision for What's Possible in the Age of Warming

Eric Holthaus · HarperOne
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

The first hopeful book about climate change, The Future Earth shows readers how to reverse the short- and long-term effects of climate change over the next three decades.The basics of climate science are easy. We know it is entirely human-caused. Which means its solutions will be similarly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cold Vanish: Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands

Jon Billman · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Jon Billman's fascinating, in-depth look at people who vanish in the wilderness without a trace and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them. These are the stories that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Plague of Corruption: Restoring Faith in the Promise of Science

Kent Heckenlively · Skyhorse
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

"Kent Heckenlively and Judy Mikovits are the new dynamic duo fighting corruption in science." - Ben Garrison, America's #1 political satirist

Dr. Judy Mikovits is a modern-day Rosalind Franklin, a brilliant researcher shaking up the old boys' club of science with her groundbreaking...
Read More check catalog