Back Staff Picks | April Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Staff Picks  
The German Girl: A Novel

Armando Lucas Correa · Atria Books
Pages: 343
Format: Print book

A stunningly ambitious and beautiful novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Schindler's List, and All the Light We Cannot See, about twelve-year-old Hannah Rosenthal's harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Boy: A Novel

Camilla Lackberg · Pegasus Crime
Pages: 493
Format: Print book

From the #1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation, Camilla Lackberg's latest psychological thriller ensnares Detective Patrik Hedstrom in a confounding new murder case. Detective Patrik Hedstrom is no stranger to tragedy. A murder case concerning Fjällbacka's dead financial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Legend of Jesse Smoke

Robert Bausch · Bloomsbury USA
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

When Skip Granger, the assistant coach for the Washington Redskins, first sees Jesse Smoke, she is on the beach in Belize. And she has just thrown a regulation football a mile. Granger knows that Smoke's talent is unprecedented for a woman, and nearly unparalleled among men. As Granger...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Orphans of the carnival : a novel

Carol Birch · Doubleday
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

From the Booker short-listed author of Jamrach's Menagerie comes the extraordinary, moving, and unsettling tale of a woman, branded a freak from birth, who becomes an international sensation but longs for genuine human connection London had the best freaks, always had. The Egyptian Hall,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trouble with Goats and Sheep: A Novel

Joanna Cannon · Scribner
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

Part coming-of-age story, part mystery, The Trouble with Goats and Sheep is a quirky and utterly charming debut about a community in need of absolution and two girls learning what it means to belong.England, 1976. Mrs. Creasy is missing and the Avenue is alive with whispers. The neighbors...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beignets, Brides and Bodies: A cozy mystery set in smalltown Arizona

J R Ripley · Severn House
Pages: 234
Format: Print book

Café owner Maggie Miller's offer to help out the bridal shop owners next door leads to a case of cold-blooded murder in this light-hearted mystery. Settling into her new life running a coffee and beignet café in the small town of Table Rock, Arizona, Maggie Miller expects nothing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Turpentine Lane

Elinor Lipman · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 305
Format: Print book

An endearing romantic comedy from the beloved best-selling author of The Family Man and The View from Penthouse B At thirty-two, Faith Frankel has returned to her claustro-suburban hometown, where she writes institutional thank-you notes for her alma mater. It's a peaceful life, really,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All Our Wrong Todays: A Novel

Elan Mastai · Dutton
Pages: 373
Format: Print book

"A novel about time travel has no right to be this engaging. A novel this engaging has no right to be this smart. And a novel this smart has no right to be this funny. Or insightful. Or immersive. Basically, this novel has no right to exist." - Jonathan Tropper, New York Times...
Read More check catalog