Back Teens | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Teens  
Fragile Like Us

SARA BARNARD · Simon Pulse
Pages: 399
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson comes a pitch perfect novel about friendship and what it takes to break the bonds between friends.

Caddy and Rosie have always been inseparable. But that was before Suzanne. Now the twosome has become a triangle with constantly shifting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
And We Stay

Jenny Hubbard · Delacorte Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A Michael L. Printz Honor Award Winner

"A gentle, lyrical story of incomprehensible sorrow faced with quiet courage." - ELIZABETH WEIN, New York Times bestselling author

"Hubbard treats tragedy and new beginnings with a skilled, delicate hand."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meet Me at the River

Nina de Gramont · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

We can’t choose who we love…but can we choose to let go?Stepsiblings Tressa and Luke have been close since they were little…and when they become teenagers, they slip from being best friends to being something more. Their relationship makes everyone around them uncomfortable,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Vanguard

Ann Aguirre · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The companion fourth book in the New York Times -- bestselling Razorland YA series sees beloved characters reunited and features an unexpected new romance.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ghost Hawk

Susan Cooper · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

A friendship between a young Native American and a colonial New England settler endangers them both in this "simply unforgettable" (BOOKLIST , starred review) adventure story from Newbery Medalist Susan Cooper.On the winter day Little Hawk is sent into the woods alone, he can take...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Still Star-Crossed

Melinda Taub · Delacorte Press
Format: Print book

Romeo and Juliet are gone. Will love live on? Despite the glooming peace that's settled on Verona after the recent tragedy, Montagues and Capulets are brawling in the streets. Faced with more bloody battles, Prince Escalus concludes that the only way to truly marry the fortunes of these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Once Upon a Time: Red's Untold Tale

Wendy Toliver · Kingswell Teen
Format: Hardcover

Red is 16 and lives with Granny in a cottage in the village, where boarding up the house and hiding during Wolfstime is a means of survival. Red help's Granny with Granny's baked good business, catering as well as door-to-door sales.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tandem

Anna Jarzab · Delacorte Press
Format: Hardcover

Read the book that Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the LEGEND trilogy called, "A fascinating world of parallel universes, sexy doppelgangers, and breathtaking action. Such a fun and addictive read!" A captivating tale of rebellion and romance that spans parallel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kuwait

Liz Sonneborn · Children's Press(CT)
Pages: 144
Format: Library Binding

Take a trip around the world with the latest entries in the Enchantment of the World series! Readers are transported to distant lands with the fascinating text and attention-grabbing photos in these books. Each country's culture, history, and geography are explored in detail, allowing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon · Simon Pulse
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller

An NPR Best Book of 2017
A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of 2017
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2017
A School Library Journal Best Young Adult Book of 2017
A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017
A PopSugar...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Contaminated

Em Garner · EgmontUSA
Format: Hardcover

"Relentlessly horrifying... a bone-chilling, riveting debut." (Ann Aguirre, USA Today best-selling author)  Gritty and grabbing, Contaminated is a harrowing, emotionally charged dystopic venture into YA. After the Contamination - an epidemic caused by the super-trendy diet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Lite Too Bright

SAMUEL MILLER · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

For fans of literary classics such as The Catcher in the Rye and The Perks of Being a Wallflower comes a stirring new thought-provoking novel from debut author Sam Miller about a loss shrouded in mystery with twists and turns down every railway.

Arthur Louis Pullman the Third is on the verge...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy

Kate Hattemer · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Book

Crackling, witty narration, free roaming between hyperintellectual allusion and shout-outs to Candyland and Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, will immediately grip fans of Frank Portman and John Green. —The Bulletin, starred review   Witty, sarcastic Ethan and his three best friends are students...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alex, Approximately

Jenn Bennett · Simon Pulse
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

In this delightfully charming teen spin on You've Got Mail, the one guy Bailey Rydell can't stand is actually the boy of her dreams - she just doesn't know it yet.

Classic movie buff Bailey "Mink" Rydell has spent months crushing on a witty film geek she only knows...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sekret

Lindsay Smith · Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An empty mind is a safe mind. Yulia's father always taught her to hide her thoughts and control her emotions to survive the harsh realities of Soviet Russia. But when she's captured by the KGB and forced to work as a psychic spy with a mission to undermine the U.S. space program,...
Read More check catalog