Back 1st Grade Fiction | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  1st Grade Fiction  
Bus! Stop!

James Yang · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Few words are needed in this inventive and fun transportation adventure!"Bus! Stop!" a boy yells, as his bus pulls away one early morning. He must wait for the next bus. But the next one does NOT look like his bus at all. And neither does the next one, or the next. At first, the boy is annoyed....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Meet Woof and Quack

JAMIE SWENSON · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Paperback

Meet Woof and Quack, a fun pair of pals who defy dog and duck stereotypes. Woof absolutely does not like to fetch - not a ball, not a banana, not that lovely cake. Good thing Quack likes to fetch! The results are laugh-out-loud comical in the debut of this exuberant beginning reader series...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grandma's Purse

Vanessa Brantley-Newton · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Spend the day with Mimi and her granddaughter in this charming picture book about the magic found in Mimi's favorite accessory, perfect for readers who love How to Babysit a Grandma!When Grandma Mimi comes to visit, she always brings warm hugs, sweet treats...and her purse. You never know...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Klondike, Do Not Eat Those Cupcakes!

Amanda Driscoll · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Join a hungry seal as he attempts the impossible task of waiting until his sister's party to eat a delicious birthday cupcake in this hilarious picture book that's perfect for fans of The Bear Ate Your Sandwich.What's the one thing you could say to make birthday cupcakes even more delicious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Field

Baptiste Paul · NorthSouth Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A soccer story - for boy and girls alike - just in time for the World Cup!"Vini! Come! The field calls!" cries a girl as she and her younger brother rouse their community - family, friends, and the local fruit vendor - for a pickup soccer (futbol) game. Boys and girls, young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hello Lighthouse

Sophie Blackall · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

A lavish new picture book from Caldecott-winner Sophie Blackall that will transport readers to the seaside in timeless, nautical splendor!Watch the days and seasons pass as the wind blows, the fog rolls in, and icebergs drift by. Outside, there is water all around. Inside, the daily life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Truck Full of Ducks

Ross Burach · Scholastic Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Did you call for a truck full of ducks?Bernie is on the road to make a delivery when one of the ducks EATS the directions. Oh no! How will he find his customer? Join the flock on this wacky call-and-response ride to find out just WHO ordered a truck full of ducks -- and why!Ross Burach's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Hippy-Hoppy Toad

Peggy Archer · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the illustrator of the award-winning Sophie's Squash comes a rollicking read-aloud featuring a very tiny toad who gets displaced as animals--and humans--brush past him on the road.In the middle of a puddlein the middle of a roadon a teeter-totter twigsat a teeny-tiny toad. Snap! went...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jinx and the Doom Fight Crime!

Lisa Mantchev · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

"An exuberant picture book ... Fabulously fun artwork ... Fighting crime definitely takes imagination." - The Wall Street Journal "This tale offers the refreshing twist of sibling friendship that parents will applaud. Jinx and the Doom will captivate readers with their irresistible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Little Red Fort

Brenda Maier · Scholastic Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year* "The Little Red Hen gets an appealing girl-power update...Young makers of all genders will be inspired." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred reviewRuby's mind is always full of ideas.One day, she finds some...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sheep 101

Richard T Morris · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

A time-honored bedtime ritual gets a new twist in this rollicking mash-up of counting sheep and nursery rhyme characters.One night, a boy counts sheep as he tries to fall asleep.99. 100. 101....Crash!Sheep 101 is stuck in the fence. Will he ever get out and get the little boy to sleep?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fly Guy and the Alienzz

Tedd Arnold · Cartwheel Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Buzz is making a movie about aliens from outer space. When the action begins, superheroes Fly Guy and Buzz Boy are protecting a secret fort in the sky when an alien ship captures them! The duo must outsmart the aliens and the space pirates with the help of Dragon Dude and Fly Girl. The fun-zee...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chavo the Invisible

Lee Nordling · Graphic Universe
Pages: 32
Format: Library Binding

"A game of capture the flag takes a fantastical turn, and one participant becomes an unlikely hero"--
Read More check catalog
 
 
Double or Nothing with the Two and Only Kelly Twins

Johanna Hurwitz · Candlewick Press
Pages: 80
Format: Print book

What's the same about identical twins - and what's different? Sleepovers, poetry projects, and new haircuts are in play as seven-year-old Arlene and Ilene start coming into their own.Arlene and Ilene love so many things about being identical twins. They like sharing a room, sharing friends,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Isadora Moon Goes to School

Harriet Muncaster · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 116
Format: Hardcover

Meet Isadora Moon! She's half-fairy, half-vampire and totally unique!Isadora Moon loves sunshine - and nighttime. She loves her magic wand - and her black tutu. She loves spooky bats - and Pink Rabbit. Isadora is half-fairy, half-vampire, and she's special because she is different!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
NanoBots

Chris Gall · Little
Pages: 40
Format: Print book

Introducing a team of robots powerful enough to change the world--and yet smaller than the dot at the end of this sentence!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Florette

ANNA WALKER · Clarion Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

When Mae's family moves to a new home, she wishes she could bring her garden with her. She'll miss the apple trees, the daffodils, and chasing butterflies in the wavy grass. But there's no room for a garden in the city. Or is there? Mae's story, gorgeously illustrated in watercolor,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Snoopy and Woodstock: Best Friends Forever!

CHARLES M SCHULZ · Simon Spotlight
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Celebrate Snoopy and Woodstock's beloved friendship with this springtime Level 2 Ready-to-Read!Snoopy is cleaning out his doghouse and he finds something very special - Woodstock's baby book! He shares it with his best feathered friend, and together they reminisce about how they met. 2017...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Greyhound, a Groundhog

Emily Jenkins · Schwartz & Wade
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When a greyhound meets a groundhog, wordplay and crazy antics ensue. The two animals, much like kids, work themselves into a frenzy as they whirl around and around one another. (Around, round hound. Around, groundhog!) The pace picks up (Around and around and astound and astound!), until...
Read More check catalog
 
 
There Was an Old Mermaid Who Swallowed a Shark!

Lucille Colandro · Cartwheel Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

There was an old mermaid who swallowed a shark. I don't know why she swallowed a shark, but it left no mark!Scholastic's bestselling Old Lady is starring in a brand-new adventure series that will make you laugh AND learn! In this new spin-off, the Old Lady turns into an Old Mermaid, travels...
Read More check catalog