Back Book Club Kits | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Book Club Kits  
Cold Sassy Tree

Olive Ann Burns · Mariner Books
Pages: 391
Format: Paperback

The one thing you can depend on in Cold Sassy, Georgia, is that word gets around-fast. When Grandpa E. Rucker Blakeslee announces one July morning in 1906 that he's aiming to marry the young and freckledy milliner, Miss Love Simpson-a bare three weeks after Granny Blakeslee has gone...

Read More
 
 
My Antonia

Willa Cather

An incredible novel strength and resilience that celebrates the tremendous spirit of the immigrant pioneers in America

My Ántonia chronicles the life of Ántonia, a Bohemian immigrant woman, as seen through the eyes of Jim, the man unable to forget her

Read More
 
 
O Pioneers!

Willa Cather · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 216
Format: Hardcover

The novel that first made Willa Cather famous - a powerfully mythic tale of the American frontier told through the life of one extraordinary woman - in a handsome hardcover volume.

No other work of fiction so vividly evokes the harsh beauty and epic sweep of the Nebraska prairies...
Read More
 
 
Between the World and Me

Ta-Nehisi Coates · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 152
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review * O: The Oprah Magazine * The Washington...
Read More
 
 
American Dirt: A Novel

Jeanine Cummins · Flatiron Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Lydia Quixano Pérez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly...

Read More
 
 
Rebecca

Daphne Du Maurier · Avon
Pages: 384
Format: Book

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.

With these words, the reader is ushered into an isolated gray stone mansion on the windswept Cornish coast, as the second Mrs. Maxim de Winter recalls the chilling events that transpired as she began her new life as the young bride...

Read More
 
 
The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit

Michael Finkel · Knopf
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality; not out of anger at the world, but simply because he preferred to live on his own.A New York...
Read More
 
 
The Scarlet Letter

Nathaniel Hawthorne · CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Format: Print book

Like all of Hawthorne's novels, "The Scarlet Letter" has but a slender plot and but few characters with an influence on the development of the story. Its great dramatic force depends entirely on the mental states of the actors and their relations to one another, —relations...
Read More
 
 
Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel

Gail Honeyman · Pamela Dorman Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick

"Beautifully written and incredibly funny, Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is about the importance of friendship and human connection. I fell in love with Eleanor, an eccentric and regimented...
Read More
 
 
An American Marriage: A Novel

Tayari Jones · Algonquin Books
Pages: 308
Format: Hardcover

OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB 2018 SELECTION One of the most anticipated novels of 2018 according to Entertainment Weekly * Goodreads * Esquire * Elle * Cosmopolitan *BBC * Huffington Post * Bustle * Southern Living * Newsday * Bookish * Nylon * iBooks Store "Transcendent . . . Triumphant . . . Gorgeous."-Elle...
Read More
 
 
The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II

Denise Kiernan · Atria Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Now a New York Times Bestseller!
THE GIRLS OF ATOMIC CITY

AT THE HEIGHT OF WORLD WAR II, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, was home to 75,000 residents, consuming more electricity than New York City. But to most of the world, the town did not exist. Thousands of civilians--many of them young...
Read More
 
 
Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng · Penguin Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Soon to be a Hulu limited series, starring Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington!

Named a Best Book of the Year by:
People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Audible,...
Read More
 
 
Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent,...

Read More
 
 
The Dutch House

Ann Patchett · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Ann Patchett, the New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth and State of Wonder, returns with her most powerful novel to date: a richly moving story that explores the indelible bond between two siblings, the house of their childhood, and a past that will not let them go.

...
Read More
 
 
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Kim Michele Richardson · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything -- everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt's Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome's got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.

Cussy's not only a book woman, however,...

Read More
 
 
Blessed

Sherry Robinson · Shadelandhouse Modern Press
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

"Blessed is an appealing, thought-provoking novel that interrogates religious obligation and altruism." FOREWORD REVIEWS CLARION REVIEW 5 OUT OF 5 RATING [Blessed] tells the story of an unorthodox preacher s effect on a small Southern town...A thoughtful religious novel [that]...
Read More
 
 
The End of Your Life Book Club

Will Schwalbe · Knopf
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"What are you reading?"

That's the question Will Schwalbe asks his mother, Mary Anne, as they sit in the waiting room of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. In 2007, Mary Anne returned from a humanitarian trip to Pakistan and Afghanistan suffering from what...

Read More
 
 
Ramp Hollow: The Ordeal of Appalachia

STEVEN STOLL · Hill and Wang
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Short-listed for the Phi Beta Kappa Ralph Waldo Emerson Book Award

In Ramp Hollow, Steven Stoll offers a fresh, provocative account of Appalachia, and why it matters. He begins with the earliest European settlers, whose desire for vast forests to hunt in was frustrated...

Read More
 
 
Rez Life: An Indian's Journey Through Reservation Life

David Treuer · Atlantic Monthly Press
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Celebrated novelist David Treuer has gained a reputation for writing fiction that expands the horizons of Native American literature. In Rez Life, his first full-length work of nonfiction, Treuer brings a novelist's storytelling skill and an eye for detail to a complex and subtle...
Read More
 
 
Educated: A Memoir

Tara Westover · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, Tara Westover was seventeen the first time she set foot in a classroom. Her family was so isolated from mainstream society that there was no one to ensure the children received an education, and no one to intervene when one of Tara’s older...
Read More
 
 
The Professor and the Madman

Simon Winchester · Harper
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Mysterious (mistîe · ries) , a. [f. L. mystérium Mysteryi + ous. Cf. F. mystérieux.]
1. Full of or fraught with mystery; wrapt in mystery; hidden from human knowledge or understanding; impossible or difficult to explain,...

Read More
 
 
Before We Were Yours: A Novel

LISA WINGATE · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT - A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life...
Read More
 
 
The House of Mirth

Edith Wharton · Penguin Classics; Reprint edition
Format: Book

A black comedy of manners about vast wealth and a woman who can define herself only through the perceptions of others. The beautiful Lily Bart lives among the nouveaux riches of New York City – people whose millions were made in railroads, shipping, land speculation and banking....
Read More