Back 2nd Grade is Super | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  2nd Grade is Super  
Duck & Company (Holiday House Reader: Level 2)

Kathy Caple · Holiday House; 1 edition
Pages: 31
Format: Hardcover

Duck and Rat love running the Duck & Company bookshop. Whether it's a feather-popping mystery for Mother Hen or a really funny joke book for Badger, Duck and Rat have lots of suggestions. But some customers are harder to serve, such as a big, scary cat. Children will laugh at Duck...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Friendship Tree (A Holiday House Reader, Level 2)

Kathy Caple · Holiday House; 1st edition
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Blanche and Otis, two friends who are sheep, enjoy each other's company from the autumn through the winter to the spring.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Second Grade Rules, Amber Brown

Paula Danziger · Live Oak Media; Pap/Com edition
Format: Paperback

Amber Brown thinks that second grae rules!  But when her teacher says desks have to be kept clean, Amber knows that is one rule she cannot follow.  She desperately wants the desk fairy, Deskarina, to visit her desk and leave a reward.  A messy desk never bothered Amber before,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What a Trip, Amber Brown (Penguin Young Readers, L3)

Paula Danziger · Penguin Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

Best friends Amber Brown and Justin Daniels are taking a vacation together. There's just one problem--Justin's little brother wants to tag along. Full-color illustrations.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Get Ready for Second Grade, Amber Brown

Paula Danziger · Puffin Books
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

Amber Brown is excited to be starting second grade--and a little nervous. She's worried that the new teacher might not be as nice as she hopes. Plus, Hannah Burton is going to be in her class, and Amber knows Hannah can be mean. But on the way to school with her best friend Justin,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rotten Ralph Helps Out

Nicole Rubel · Square Fish; Reprint edition
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

Sarah is excited about her school project on ancient Egypt. She would like Ralph’s help. But Ralph’s idea of helping out is no help at all. According to Sarah, the ancient Egyptians believed cats were wise and had special powers. Can Rotten Ralph prove them right?
Read More check catalog
 
 
Waltur Buys a Pig in a Poke and Other Stories

Barbara Gregorich · Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

“Be careful,” said Matilda. “Do not buy a pig in a poke.” “What’s a poke?” asked Darwin.Yes, what is a poke? And why would Waltur, a bear, buy a pig, anyway?Together with the help of his best friends, Matilda and Darwin, Waltur is about to find out the wisdom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frog and Toad Together

Arnold Lobel · HarperCollins
Format: Library Binding

Frog and Toad are best friends—they do everything together. When Toad admires the flowers in Frog's garden, Frog gives him seeds to grow a garden of his own. When Toad bakes cookies, Frog helps him eat them. And when both Frog and Toad are scared, they are brave together. The School...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Amelia Bedelia Helps Out

Peggy Parish · Greenwillow Books
Pages: 64
Format: Hardcover

Helping hands Amelia Bedelia brings her niece -- and her literal-minded zaniness -- to Miss Emma's house for a day of work. It's a good thing Miss Emma likes to laugh because Amelia Bedelia makes her usual merry mess!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Henry and Mudge: The First Book

Cynthia Rylant · Simon Spotlight
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

The Horn Book Lively, reassuring, comical -- just right for newly independent readers, with cartoon-style illustrations that gallop, skip, and splash right along with the text.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nate The Great And The Missing Key (Nate The Great, paper)

Marjorie Weinman Sharmat · Yearling
Pages: 80
Format: Paperback

Nate the Great doesn't especially want to go to a birthday party for Annie's ferocious dog, Fang. But he can't resist a mystery--and when Annie loses her house key and can't get inside to set up the party, Nate and his trusty dog, Sludge, are hot on the trial.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ivy and Bean

Annie Barrows · Chronicle Books
Pages: 120
Format: Hardcover

The moment they saw each other, Bean and Ivy knew they wouldnt be friends. But when Bean plays a joke on her sister, Nancy, and has to hide, quick! Ivy comes to the rescue, proving that sometimes the best of friends are people never meant to like each other. Vibrant characters and lots...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spoiled Rotten (Hyperion Chapters)

Barthe Declements · Hyperion
Pages: 64
Format: Paperback

When his neighbor and friend, Andy, continually misbehaves in class, Scott fears that Andy will be sent back to the first grade and launches a campaign to straighten out his friend's act. Simultaneous.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ms. Todd Is Odd! (My Weird School)

Dan Gutman · HarperCollins
Pages: 98
Format: Hardcover

Ms. Todd is subbing and A.J. and his friends are sure she kidnapped Miss Daisy so she could take over her job. They're going to have to do the detective work to get the goods on her. But it won't be easy! Ms. Todd is the weirdest substitute teacher in the history of the world!
Read More check catalog
 
 
Gooney the Fabulous

Lois Lowry · Houghton Mifflin Books for Children; None edition
Pages: 96
Format: Hardcover

Mrs. Pidgeon has been reading Aesop’s fables to her second grade class. What’s a fable? Well, it’s a story that has animals as characters, and it teaches you something important, and . . . Once again it is Gooney Bird Greene who knows how to turn lessons into fun. She has an idea....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stink: Solar System Superhero

Megan McDonald · Candlewick; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

Save the planet . . . Pluto! Stink Moody, wise-cracking champion of everything small, is on a new mission: to reinstate his favorite celestial orb.Look! Up in the sky! Is it a falling leaf ?A speck of dust? A speeding mosquito?No, it’s Stink Moody, Solar System Superhero!When Stink...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Judy Moody

Megan McDonald · Candlewick; Reissue edition
Format: Hardcover

The mercurial Judy Moody will delight any kid whos known a bad mood or a bad day—and managed to laugh anyway.And, the winners of the Judy Moody All-About-Me Contest are announced! See the amazing winning and runner-up entries at httpwww.fablevision.comjudymoodywinnerstest.html — and find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Kitty the Tiger Fairy: A Rainbow Magic Book

Daisy Meadows · Scholastic Paperbacks

Just when you thought the fairies couldn't get any cuter. . . here come the baby animals!Rachel and Kirsty to the rescue!The girls are spending a week of their summer vacation at the Wild Woods Nature Reserve. They're going to volunteer as junior rangers-- which means lots of quality...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Whiskers

Ann Whitehead Nagda · Holiday House; 1st edition
Pages: 80
Format: Hardcover

Jenny is discouraged when her second grade penpal turns out to be a new student from Saudi Arabia who does not speak English very well, but as she works with her they slowly become friends.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Case of the Kidnapped Candy (Jigsaw Jones Mystery, No. 30)

James Preller · Scholastic; Reissue edition
Pages: 80
Format: Paperback

Looking for intriguing mysteries, great friendship stories, and quality chapter books for beginning readers? Look no further: Jigsaw and Mila are the best detectives on the market!The best detective in second grade is back -- and this time, he's cracking a Valentine's Day mystery!...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Keena Ford and the Secret Journal Mix-Up

Melissa Thomson · Puffin
Pages: 112
Format: Paperback

The third book about the spunky second-grader, perfect for fans of Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, and Frankly, Frannie!Keena Ford loves writing in her journal. She keeps all of her thoughts in there, even if they are sometimes not-so-nice. One day, Keena accidentally leaves her journal...
Read More check catalog