About this item

A terrifying novel set in Czechoslovakia in 1935, in which a brilliant young psychiatrist takes his new post at an asylum for the criminally insane that houses only six inmates--the country's most depraved murderers--while, in Prague, a detective struggles to understand a brutal serial killer who has spread fear through the city, and who may have ties to the asylumIn 1935, Viktor Kosárek, a psychiatrist newly trained by Carl Jung, arrives at the infamous Hrad Orlu Asylum for the Criminally Insane. The state-of-the-art facility is located in a medieval mountaintop castle outside of Prague, though the site is infamous for concealing dark secrets going back many generations. The asylum houses the country's six most treacherous killers--known to the staff as The Woodcutter, The Clown, The Glass Collector, The Vegetarian, The Sciomancer, and The Demon--and Viktor hopes to use a new medical technique to prove that these patients share a common archetype of evil, a phenomenon known as The Devil Aspect.

About the Author

Craig Russell

Award-winning author Craig Russell's novels have been translated into twenty-five languages worldwide. Film rights to his forthcoming novel, THE DEVIL ASPECT, have been acquired by Sony Pictures/Columbia Pictures and will be published by Doubleday in the US, Little, Brown in the UK. Screen rights to BIBLICAL have been acquired by Imaginarium Studios/Sonar Entertainment. The first television adaptation in Germany, by Tivoli Films, of a Jan Fabel novel attracted an audience of six million viewers. Three further novels have been made into films (in one of which Craig Russell makes a cameo appearance as a detective) .Craig Russell:* won the 2015 Crime Book of the Year (McIlvanney Prize) for 'The Ghosts of Altona'* is currently shortlisted for the 2019 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Award* was a finalist for the 2017 McIlvanney Prize for 'The Quiet Death of Thomas Quaid', the latest in the Lennox series;* was a finalist for the 2012 inaugural Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the year;* was a finalist for the 2013 Ellis Peters Historical Dagger;* was a finalist for the 2012 Crime Book of the Year (McIlvanney Prize) ;* won the 2008 CWA Dagger in the Library for the Fabel series;* was a finalist for the 2007 CWA Duncan Lawrie Golden Dagger;* was a finalist for the 2007 SNCF Prix Polar in France; * is the only non-German to be awarded the highly prestigious Polizeistern by the Polizei Hamburg.Official website: http://www.craigrussell.comFacebook Fanpage: https://www.facebook.com/craigrussellbooksTwitter: https://twitter.com/thecraigrussellhttps://www.instagram.com/craigrussellauthor

Read Next Recommendation

Report incorrect product information.