About this item

Cat's Cradle is Vonnegut's satirical commentary on modern man and his madness. An apocalyptic tale of this planet's ultimate fate, it features a midget as the protagonist; a complete, original theology created by a calypso singer; and a vision of the future that is at once blackly fatalistic and hilariously funny.

About the Author

Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922. He studied at the universities of Chicago and Tennessee and later began to write short stories for magazines. His first novel, Player Piano, was published in 1951 and since then he has written many novels, among them: The Sirens of Titan (1959) , Mother Night (1961) , Cat's Cradle (1963) , God Bless You Mr Rosewater (1964) , Welcome to the Monkey House; a collection of short stories (1968) , Breakfast of Champions (1973) , Slapstick, or Lonesome No More (1976) , Jailbird (1979) , Deadeye Dick (1982) , Galapagos (1985) , Bluebeard (1988) and Hocus Pocus (1990) . During the Second World War he was held prisoner in Germany and was present at the bombing of Dresden, an experience which provided the setting for his most famous work to date, Slaughterhouse Five (1969) . He has also published a volume of autobiography entitled Palm Sunday (1981) and a collection of essays and speeches, Fates Worse Than Death (1991) .

Read Next Recommendation

Report incorrect product information.