Back Indie Next

Simple News Pro
  Indie Next  
1 - Libertie: A Novel

Kaitlyn Greenidge

- The critically acclaimed and Whiting Award-winning author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman returns with an unforgettable story about the meaning of freedom. Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that her purposeful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Broken

Jenny Lawson · Henry Holt and Co.; Illustrated edition

As Jenny Lawson's hundreds of thousands of fans know, she suffers from depression. In Broken, she explores her experimental treatment of transcranial magnetic stimulation with brutal honesty. But also with brutal humor. Jenny discusses the frustration of dealing with her insurance company...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Of Women and Salt

Gabriela Garcia

In present-day Miami, Jeanette is battling addiction. Daughter of Carmen, a Cuban immigrant, she is determined to learn more about her family history from her reticent mother and makes the snap decision to take in the daughter of a neighbor detained by ICE. Carmen, still wrestling with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - The Night Always Comes: A Novel

Willy Vlautin · Harper

Award-winning author Willy Vlautin explores the impact of trickle-down greed and opportunism of gentrification on ordinary lives in this scorching novel that captures the plight of a young woman pushed to the edge as she fights to secure a stable future for herself and her family.Barely...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - Raft of Stars: A Novel

Andrew J. Graff

An instant classic for fans of Jane Smiley and Kitchens of the Great Midwest: when two hardscrabble young boys think they've committed a crime, they flee into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Will the adults trying to find and protect them reach them before it's too late?It's the summer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - Gold Diggers: A Novel

Sanjena Sathian · Penguin Press

Spanning two continents, two coasts, and four epochs, Gold Diggers expertly balances social satire and magical realism in a classic striver story that skewers the model minority narrative, asking what a community must do to achieve the American dream. In razor sharp and deeply funny prose,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Mother May I: A Novel

Joshilyn Jackson

"A master of domestic suspense." - Entertainment WeeklyThe New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed Never Have I Ever builds on her success with this addictive novel of domestic suspense in which a mother must decide how far she is willing to go to protect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Northern Spy: A Novel

Flynn Berry · Viking

returns with her most thrilling novel to date: the story of two sisters who become entangled with the IRAA producer at the Belfast bureau of the BBC, Tessa is at work one day when the news of another raid comes on the air. The IRA may have gone underground after the Good Friday Agreement...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Elephant of Belfast: A Novel

S. Kirk Walsh · Counterpoint

In October 1940, twenty-year-old zookeeper Hettie Quin meets Violet, a three-year-old elephant arriving at the Belfast docks from Ceylon. Soon, she becomes Violet's dedicated zookeeper at the Bellevue Zoo. While she is mourning for the recent loss of her sister and the abandonment of her father,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - When the Stars Go Dark: A Novel

Paula McLain

Anna Hart is a seasoned missing persons detective in San Francisco with far too much knowledge of the darkest side of human nature. When tragedy strikes her personal life, Anna, desperate and numb, flees to the Northern California village of Mendocino to grieve. She lived there as a child...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - Finding Freedom: A Cook's Story; Remaking a Life from Scratch

Erin French · Celadon Books

Long before The Lost Kitchen became a world dining destination with every seating filled the day the reservation book opens each spring, Erin French was a girl roaming barefoot on a 25-acre farm, a teenager falling in love with food while working the line at her dad's diner and a young...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Astrid Sees All: A Novel

Natalie Standiford · Atria Books

New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Lost Village: A Novel

Camilla Sten

Documentary filmmaker Alice Lindstedt has been obsessed with the vanishing residents of the old mining town, dubbed "The Lost Village," since she was a little girl. In 1959, her grandmother's entire family disappeared in this mysterious tragedy, and ever since, the unanswered...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Red Island House: A Novel

Andrea Lee

Shay is surprised when her husband Senna declares his intention to build her a spectacular dream house on an idyllic beach in the tropical island nation of Madagascar. But the Red Island House casts a spell from the moment she sees it, and before she knows it Shay has become the somewhat...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - What Comes After: A Novel

JoAnne Tompkins · Riverhead Books

In misty, coastal Washington State, Isaac lives alone with his dog, grieving the recent death of his teenage son, Daniel. Next door, Lorrie, a working single mother, struggles with a heinous act committed by her own teenage son. Separated by only a silvery stretch of trees, the two parents...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance

Hanif Abdurraqib

From breakout writer and peerless new voice Hanif Abdurraqib, the New York Times bestselling author of Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to A Tribe Called Quest, comes a personal and introspective examination of black performance in America, in which race, history, culture, and entertainment...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - The Good Sister: A Novel

Sally Hepworth

From the outside, everyone might think Fern and Rose are as close as twin sisters can be: Rose is the responsible one, with a home and a husband and a fierce desire to become a mother. Fern is the quirky one, the free spirit, the librarian who avoids social interaction and whom the world...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - Every Vow You Break: A Novel

Peter Swanson · William Morrow

A bride's dream honeymoon becomes a nightmare when a man with whom she's had a regrettable one-night stand shows up in this electrifying psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of Eight Perfect Murders.Abigail Baskin never thought she'd fall in love with a millionaire....
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - Eternal

Lisa Scottoline · G.P. Putnam's Sons

What war destroys, only love can heal.Elisabetta, Marco, and Sandro grow up as the best of friends despite their differences. Elisabetta is a feisty beauty who dreams of becoming a novelist; Marco the brash and athletic son in a family of professional cyclists; and Sandro a Jewish mathematics...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - Permafrost

Eva Baltasar · And Other Stories

Permafrost's no-bullshit lesbian narrator is an uninhibited lover and a wickedly funny observer of modern life. Desperate to get out of Barcelona, she goes to Brussels, 'because a city whose symbol is a little boy pissing was a city I knew I would like'; as an au pair in Scotland,...
Read More check catalog